We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real review not tailored.”
Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2016

This place is a Beautiful place. Rules are campground police, be careful : Smell of sewer on way to water. We are a family of 4.prior to site arrival: We called site was full. Someone on island we know drove over to get us a site. Great. The week we are here, better then 3/4 sites are empty. Go figure : Street light is so bright all night shines on your trailer. Our guests came over and had to pay for the day and to watch the sunset they were told you know the rules and it is time to leave. Bathrooms: are ok. We are from over 10 hours drive, I will pay for a hotel for next time. One more thing boats are 1 per site. We have a family of 4 so this rule made it hard to leave a child behind. There is no rope and safety gear, and you sign your life off to use the equipment. This may sound bad but bad impressions are what they are.

Room Tip: Small group, and use as home base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ve6eds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

We thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Please check with your cousin, we did not charge her for her visit.
Unfortunately with the resort only having a very small fleet, we do have to limit our boats to 1 per site. Amy did suggest that you and your family borrow the row boat, which would have easily held your whole family.We ask all our guests to wear the life jackets provided. The boat waiver only takes a second to sign and then you are on your way to boating fun!
There was a large family who had a family emergency and unfortunately had to cancel at the last minute. That is why we had sites available.Up until the morning after they were supposed to arrive, we thought we were completely booked. Your cousins timing is excellent!
Thank you for bringing the sewer smell to our attention. We will have some professionals come in and see what can be done. I will put the street light on the my husbands to do list.
Thank you for taking the time to bring these things to our attention.
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Had no idea what to expect as extended family booked the site but what a pleasant surprise. Lots for the kids to do, super quiet at night and fantastic staff. We tented while the family we camped with were in a small trailer and it worked well for both of us.

Only a few minutes from shopping and about 10 minutes from the ferry but there's no way you could tell that when you're there. (in a good way!)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anugent79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

We are so happy to be a happy surprise for you and your family!
It is amazing how far away everything feels when you are here but only minutes away once you turn out of the driveway.The best of both worlds!
Please come visit us again.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I chose this campsite after researching the various options for Salt Spring Island online. I have no regrets; in fact we have already decided that we will return next year. We brought our 2 kids (aged 3 and 5) and found CBR to be a children friendly resort. The lake that the site is located at, plus the pool, recreation room and other areas, allowed us to stay and not leave once during the two days we stayed. I have to highlight the fact that there is additional open areas where you can spread out to BBQ with friends/guests, or just to change the scenery. The boats and kids toys that CBR provides is also a great add-on. Every section offered for camping includes a water source as well as a electrical outlet. This place is managed well and all the washrooms were in good, clean condition. The management and staff also contributed to our decision to return. They are very professional and friendly. They completely leave you alone for privacy; however, when you do need assistance, they are always there to help. We did have an unfortunate incident that occurred during our stay (my fault) and I felt a lot better when management told me that we're in this together and we will figure it out. A lot of places would have just fined you for similar issues and provided a warning.

Room Tip: Check the map/view on website as some sections are bigger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mintynakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Thank you for your kind words!
I feel that Cedar Beach is such a gem!
Blue waters, bright colourful skies, children laughing!
We are always honoured to find out we will become part of another families memories for years to come.
We will see you next year.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

It was our familys first time at the Cedar Beach Resort and the management staff where very polite, cordious to all our needs. We rented two campsites that were tidey and Greg paper picked around the campsites each day. Thank you very much for giving us a great stay, we will be back and have already told our friends about our great trip.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank TSN662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit at Cedar Beach Resort. It was your first time but hopefully not your last!
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This is the fourth visit with our extended family ... once again the facility and staff fully met our expectations. The rustic cabins are well maintained and very clean; management and staff have worked hard to steadily improve the already excellent resort and were quick to respond to all our needs. A great place for a family vacation, particularly with young children.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTrousdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

It was our pleasure to host you and your family.
You are great group, with a great sense of fun about all of you.
Have a great year. We look forward to your visit next summer.

Shona
ps
say hi to Frank for me

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.5 km away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#3 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
9.1 km away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
221 reviews
2 km away
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt Spring Island
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt...
#5 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Fulford Harbour
30 reviews
3.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
448 reviews
5 km away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Address: 1136 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Beach Resort is located on beautiful St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. At our 5 acre resort, we have 17 cabins and suites as well as 23 fully serviced RV and camping sites. We have our own private, sandy beach right on the lake. Our heated, outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September) and hot tub (open year round) offer fabulous lake views. The adjoining Beach House offers indoor and outdoor recreation space for our guests' enjoyment and is also suited for large group gatherings. An outdoor barbecue, bonfire and lakefront picnic tables are very popular features. The Resort offers an exceptional venue for family reunions, friends gatherings, and small group weddings. All of our cabins and suites are fully furnished, with cooking facilities. Some units offer such up to date amenities as televisions with cable or DVD players and propane BBQ's while others retain the feel of a rustic cabin in the forest without all the urban elements. We have a men's and a ladies' washrooms in the RV / campground area with complimentary hot showers. A fully equipped handicap washroom adjoins the main washrooms. All of our sites have water, sewer, and power (30 amp service). As a family oriented resort, you can enjoy the frivolity during the day and the peacefulness of the night. We are OPEN year round,come and enjoy the Island during the off seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing