We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipping Stone Beach B&B(Salt Spring Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highgarden B&B(Salt Spring Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
107
50
11
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
50
11
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managershot tubmary's lakerow boatfree showerssandy private beachwarm lakefamily vacationhide a bedsalt springcamping tripbeautiful cabintall treestop bunka great place to stayvancouver islandcomforts of home
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Has become a Strata complex where owners of individual units rent out their cabins. They also sell RV lots with all amenities. They are close to the beach of St.Mary Lake
They also rent out boats with electric motors as regular motors are a no-no because the lake is the largest source of house water. The place is like most places on Salt Spring Island: no luxury but clean and rural. Enjoy if you go there.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank canboy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for your input.

All of our cabins and camp sites are indeed individually owned and have been for quite a few years. We are a co-op property with membership availability. We supply boats to our guests free of charge, but not the motors. If you saw guests with electric motors, they have brought them themselves.
It's true that the Local Bylaws do not permit gas motors as this is our drinking water.The entire North End of the Island is fed from St. Marys Lake.
Again we thank you for your valued feed back and look forward to your return.

Respectfully
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I have been here in one of the cabins and TV camping and have had a great experience every time. They are great about dogs, I have 2 large dogs and it is well kept and quiet at night. Showers are nice and hot too! It is so close to Ganges it makes it convenient for shopping and supplies but far enough away you know your camping. The lake is stunning and well stocked with trout and the government wharf I'd a nice drive to "throw" the dogs in the ocean and have a picnic. Love, love, love! I'll always return. Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for your kind words!
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.It is always nice to find our guests enjoyed the Resort as much as we do. Please come visit us again, and soon!

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Price: 210 CAD/ night for cabin 1

Pros: cabin 1 had everything we needed, and was looking straight at the lake. The place was beautiful and calm. There were lots of people around, but it didn't feel crowded. staff were very friendly

Cons: a few dishes were left dirty in the cupboard that we had to wash. Our cabin was close to the garbage area and we got a waft every time we left/came back.

Bottom line: reccomended.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank soakupthesun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Cabin 1 is a beautiful cabin with a great view.
I apologies for the dishes, I will definitely talk to my staff about that.
And thank you for bringing the garbage odor to our attention, we will do some brainstorming and see if we can come up with some solutions.
Please come visit us again.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at Cedar Beach Resort a couple of times, once in 2013 and again in 2016, and I'd gladly do so again. I was traveling by bicycle through the Southern Gulf Islands and wanted a place to pitch my tent and be able to easily bike to Ganges and other locations for food and sightseeing.

Cedar Beach Resort has several RV/camping spots that have electricity, water, and that can be reserved ahead of time. While I've never used them, the Resort also has several cabins of different sizes for people who'd prefer that situation. The Resort slopes down from the road to the shores of St. Mary Lake (the photo is the view from the clubhouse on the lake shore), where there's a playground and both a swimming pool and hot tub, and also beach access for swimming in the lake.

The bathrooms are adequate and showers are free. From the Resort it's a quick three mile bike ride down to Ganges, and it's only about 6 or 7 miles from either the Long Harbor or Vesuvius Ferries. It made a great base for my camping/biking trip, and I really enjoyed talking with the friendly, helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!
I very much like how close we are but how far away everything feels once you are in the Resort. It makes it a true get away for those that are looking for an escape from lifes business. Still close enough to everything if needed.
Please come visit us again soon.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

This place is a Beautiful place. Rules are campground police, be careful : Smell of sewer on way to water. We are a family of 4.prior to site arrival: We called site was full. Someone on island we know drove over to get us a site. Great. The week we are here, better then 3/4 sites are empty. Go figure : Street light is so bright all night shines on your trailer. Our guests came over and had to pay for the day and to watch the sunset they were told you know the rules and it is time to leave. Bathrooms: are ok. We are from over 10 hours drive, I will pay for a hotel for next time. One more thing boats are 1 per site. We have a family of 4 so this rule made it hard to leave a child behind. There is no rope and safety gear, and you sign your life off to use the equipment. This may sound bad but bad impressions are what they are.

Room Tip: Small group, and use as home base.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ve6eds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

We thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Please check with your cousin, we did not charge her for her visit.
Unfortunately with the resort only having a very small fleet, we do have to limit our boats to 1 per site. Amy did suggest that you and your family borrow the row boat, which would have easily held your whole family.We ask all our guests to wear the life jackets provided. The boat waiver only takes a second to sign and then you are on your way to boating fun!
There was a large family who had a family emergency and unfortunately had to cancel at the last minute. That is why we had sites available.Up until the morning after they were supposed to arrive, we thought we were completely booked. Your cousins timing is excellent!
Thank you for bringing the sewer smell to our attention. We will have some professionals come in and see what can be done. I will put the street light on the my husbands to do list.
Thank you for taking the time to bring these things to our attention.
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews