We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family experience”
Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Enjoyed a couple of days at Cedar Beach! Our 2 bdrm cabin was well stocked for the 4 "chefs" in the family! We had a reunion of brothers, sister, mom and niece .. Who brought her SO. all of us love to cook. 3 of the group stayed at campsites, perfectly settled amongst huge pines, within a minute from the cabin. The Cabin 6 was perfectly appointed, thanks to very conscientious owners. So lovely, comfortable and a beautiful setting. The amenities of the resort were great, however I did not use pool or hot tub, but I did play a mean game of ping-pong and took a peaceful canoe trip through the gorgeous Lake Mary. Cloudy cool weather so did not lay by the beach, but next time!!
I highly recommend Cedar Beach for either a quiet restful stay in the off months or a great family resort with lots to do for everyone.
Thanks folks! Your humor and kindness made our stay even better! See you again!
Sylvie from Minnesota!

Room Tip: Cabin 6 was great for family gatherings and a well appointed kitchen for the chefs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Thank you Sylvie!
We are so happy everyone had a great time.
It was our pleasure to be part of your mini reunion. Please come visit us again soon.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Me and my partner wanted to have a relaxing break away from the buzz of Vancouver and Saltspring Island seemed the perfect destination. After looking at a few other places we went with Cedar Beach Resort with plans to camp,but we noticed one of the cabins was going to be free for the dates we were thinking of coming over, so booked that instead.

On arrival we were greeted and given a nice rundown of the rules on site, which were helpful. Due to us coming at the beginning of September the resort was quiet and very relaxing and our cabin overlooking the swimming pool, hot tub and of course that beautiful lake was near enough to perfect as you could ask for. Even more so watching the sunset. You could also buy some firewood for $7 and make a nice evening campfire near the lake.

The cabin facilities were great, including a gas BBQ just outside on the porch which served us well during our stay for lunch and dinner. The cabins were clean and had a very comfortable bed and a powerful shower as well as a fridge freezer and oven.

As the weather was so lovely we also made use of the rowing boats the resort had for use and rowed around the lake.

If you needed to go downtown it was only a 7 min car ride. We made use of Amber Cabs to get around when we needed too and they were also great.

All in all it was an amazing and more importantly relaxing break and we'll definitely be going back as soon as time allows.

Room Tip: Each of the cabins are different so best have a look at the photo gallery to make your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienAB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

We are so happy you enjoyed your get away. Cedar Beach is a tranquil place this time of year. Quiet mornings and sunshine to make the Lake sparkle like a gem.
Please come visit us again soon.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Has become a Strata complex where owners of individual units rent out their cabins. They also sell RV lots with all amenities. They are close to the beach of St.Mary Lake
They also rent out boats with electric motors as regular motors are a no-no because the lake is the largest source of house water. The place is like most places on Salt Spring Island: no luxury but clean and rural. Enjoy if you go there.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank canboy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for your input.

All of our cabins and camp sites are indeed individually owned and have been for quite a few years. We are a co-op property with membership availability. We supply boats to our guests free of charge, but not the motors. If you saw guests with electric motors, they have brought them themselves.
It's true that the Local Bylaws do not permit gas motors as this is our drinking water.The entire North End of the Island is fed from St. Marys Lake.
Again we thank you for your valued feed back and look forward to your return.

Respectfully
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I have been here in one of the cabins and TV camping and have had a great experience every time. They are great about dogs, I have 2 large dogs and it is well kept and quiet at night. Showers are nice and hot too! It is so close to Ganges it makes it convenient for shopping and supplies but far enough away you know your camping. The lake is stunning and well stocked with trout and the government wharf I'd a nice drive to "throw" the dogs in the ocean and have a picnic. Love, love, love! I'll always return. Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for your kind words!
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.It is always nice to find our guests enjoyed the Resort as much as we do. Please come visit us again, and soon!

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Price: 210 CAD/ night for cabin 1

Pros: cabin 1 had everything we needed, and was looking straight at the lake. The place was beautiful and calm. There were lots of people around, but it didn't feel crowded. staff were very friendly

Cons: a few dishes were left dirty in the cupboard that we had to wash. Our cabin was close to the garbage area and we got a waft every time we left/came back.

Bottom line: reccomended.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank soakupthesun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Cabin 1 is a beautiful cabin with a great view.
I apologies for the dishes, I will definitely talk to my staff about that.
And thank you for bringing the garbage odor to our attention, we will do some brainstorming and see if we can come up with some solutions.
Please come visit us again.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.5 km away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#4 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
9.1 km away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
216 reviews
2 km away
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt Spring Island
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt...
#5 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Springs Resort
#20 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
25 reviews
0.9 km away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#9 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
24 reviews
6 km away
Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar
#17 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Address: 1136 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Beach Resort is located on beautiful St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. At our 5 acre resort, we have 17 cabins and suites as well as 23 fully serviced RV and camping sites. We have our own private, sandy beach right on the lake. Our heated, outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September) and hot tub (open year round) offer fabulous lake views. The adjoining Beach House offers indoor and outdoor recreation space for our guests' enjoyment and is also suited for large group gatherings. An outdoor barbecue, bonfire and lakefront picnic tables are very popular features. The Resort offers an exceptional venue for family reunions, friends gatherings, and small group weddings. All of our cabins and suites are fully furnished, with cooking facilities. Some units offer such up to date amenities as televisions with cable or DVD players and propane BBQ's while others retain the feel of a rustic cabin in the forest without all the urban elements. We have a men's and a ladies' washrooms in the RV / campground area with complimentary hot showers. A fully equipped handicap washroom adjoins the main washrooms. All of our sites have water, sewer, and power (30 amp service). As a family oriented resort, you can enjoy the frivolity during the day and the peacefulness of the night. We are OPEN year round,come and enjoy the Island during the off seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing