We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a family friendly resort! You won't be disappointed!!”
Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Our family tradition is to find a location where we can view the Persied Meteor Shower as we have avid astronomers in the family. This year, our kids decided they wanted to go to Salt Spring Island. Thanks to Trip Advisor, we discovered Cedar Beach Resort. The only Cabin available was #15. Tight squeeze for the four of us, and the hide-a-bed was different from the photos on their website, but we made it work. It was a nice cozy apartment. The Queen Bed was really comfortable, the kids enjoyed the TV, we'd come prepared with an air matress as the boys weren't too thrilled about sleeping together...lol

There is a steep staircase by the Beach House to get up to the apartment (knew about it prior to our arrival), but as long as I only went up & down it a couple of times a day (mobility issues), it was workable.

The pool was cooler than the lake, but we used both. My husband borrowed a row boat and went fishing with the kids. It was the second time the kids had ever been in a lake. Wow, they loved it!

Such an enjoyable place! The staff were so friendly and nice. Our first time there, and won't be our last. We've already booked in for 2018 - and my parents are looking at booking too.

By the way, it was the best location for the Perseid Meteor Shower!

Thanks Cedar Beach for making our 2017 Family Vacation so awesome!

Room Tip: #15 is best for 2 people & has no microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boyzbymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Oh, we are so happy you enjoyed your family get away!
Thank you for your kind words.
Cedar Beach is such a special place, I am always so thrilled when others love it as much as we do.
Hopefully the year will fly by and you'll be back with us before you know it!

Kind Regards,
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We saw Cedar Beach Resort advertised on their website and from the pictures,were impressed so booked two days. Upon arriving at the "resort ", it looked nothing like the photos posted on their website. After driving to our designated site, we were surprised to find that the sewer hook-up was located on one side of the RV pad and the electrical and water outlets on the other side of the lot. I went back to the office and asked why the weird arrangement. I was told that's the way it was built....way back when. They offered me an extra electrical cable and an extension water hose, in order for us to be able to utilize the site. I mentioned that this was the first time of encountering this sort of problem....at which the lady behind the counter just smiled. At this point, I said that all though we had booked two days that we might stay just one night. She replied that she couldn't refund us the second day, because of their cancellation policy and the only way around it was that if they could re-rent it to someone else for the next day then they would credit our card for that day.... l found this hard to comprehend ...and would assume that even if they rent out the spot, we will never get our money refunded for the second day....very unethical to say the least.
As for the so-called "amenities "..... the outdoor heated pool and hot tub were grundgy...the community clubhouse was small and filled with kids ....monopolizing a small billiards table....the men's public restrooms and showers were messy and smelled with urine, having mould behind the toilet and the tiles were lifting from a rotting sub floor in the showers!
CEDAR BEACH RESORT????
No Way Jose
Will not return!
TRAVEL ALERT....Don't be fooled by their website!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gord D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback Gord.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, even after we refunded you a nights stay. Which we spoke about earlier today. Our cancellation policy is 72 hrs, which is very reasonable for a campsite. With the fires on the Mainland we have been turning guests away. We were able to re-rent your site and as promised your money was returned.
This is an old Resort and it does need some work, but the summer is not the time for repairs (unless it's a safety issue!). This Resort has been here since the year they landed on the moon! She is always in need of some repairs, it keeps us busy in our off season. The pool and hot tub are cleaned and balanced daily. With so many guests using them, the hot tub sometimes twice. The discolour in the bottom of the pool is the paint coming off, which will need to be addressed in the off season. Our pool is checked by three different people for safety reasons.
We have staff in daily to clean all the washroom facilities, I am sorry that they were not up to your standards. Children can be messy.
We are a family Resort and yes there are a lot of children here. They do tend to be a little loud and rambunctious, children are excitable. They are here on a grand adventure. I'm sorry that they wouldn't share.
I apologize that this was not a good fit for you.I wish you all the best in your future adventures.
Respectfully,
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We were not disappointed in trying Cedar Beach Resort for our Salt Spring getaway. The management was very friendly and helpful (even was offered use of their personal tent, when our friends realized they forgot tent poles!). We really appreciated the free use of their lake crafts, i.e. row boats and paddle boats. This property and St Mary's Lake are beautiful and so relaxing.

Word of warning to campers. If you have an RV, bring extensions for your utilities. Our site had water and power on the wrong side, so I was happy to have extra hose and 30A extension. Bring enough leveling blocks, as the sites aren't quite flat. And leave the kids' bikes at home, unless they like steep hills. All considered, I would still highly recommend Cedar Beach.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aliasorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. This is a lovely little piece of paradise and we are happy to share. We are hilly though! A good excuse to spend your time at the lake and pool ;)
We hope to see you and your family again!

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

My son and I stayed in one of the cabins by the dock just this week. We had a wonderful vacation. There was never a shortage of things to do at the resort. We went out on the boats, swam in the pool and went fishing in the evening. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and then some. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. The property was clean and well run. I wish we could stay there all summer. There is no doubt we will be back, can't wait.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beliandmaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

We are so happy that you enjoyed your get away with us! It is an amazing piece of property and quite frankly our guests are the best;)
It is always a humbling experience for us to be part of so many families good memories.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

It's very clean and quiet, the lake is beautiful. The owner is a tough nut to crack but after you get to know him he is very considerate of his guests, and watches out for safety with speed limits and dogs on leash. Has laundry and hot showers, pool down by the lake!
I'd go back for sure!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 1tasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words and valued feedback.
This is a great Resort in a great location. And having the best guest makes it that much better!
We look forward to your next visit with us.
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.5 km away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#3 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
9.1 km away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
221 reviews
2 km away
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt Spring Island
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt...
#5 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Fulford Harbour
30 reviews
3.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
448 reviews
5 km away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Address: 1136 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Beach Resort is located on beautiful St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. At our 5 acre resort, we have 17 cabins and suites as well as 23 fully serviced RV and camping sites. We have our own private, sandy beach right on the lake. Our heated, outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September) and hot tub (open year round) offer fabulous lake views. The adjoining Beach House offers indoor and outdoor recreation space for our guests' enjoyment and is also suited for large group gatherings. An outdoor barbecue, bonfire and lakefront picnic tables are very popular features. The Resort offers an exceptional venue for family reunions, friends gatherings, and small group weddings. All of our cabins and suites are fully furnished, with cooking facilities. Some units offer such up to date amenities as televisions with cable or DVD players and propane BBQ's while others retain the feel of a rustic cabin in the forest without all the urban elements. We have a men's and a ladies' washrooms in the RV / campground area with complimentary hot showers. A fully equipped handicap washroom adjoins the main washrooms. All of our sites have water, sewer, and power (30 amp service). As a family oriented resort, you can enjoy the frivolity during the day and the peacefulness of the night. We are OPEN year round,come and enjoy the Island during the off seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing