We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
132
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black beans cedar suite three nights long weekend a great stay the kitchen bobby bobbi hosts osprey beaches deck forest tacofino trail
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 15 year anniversary at the Black Bear Guest House and had a wonderful time. We have traveled all over the world and still have never been anywhere that matches the beauty of the west coast. As well, our stay at the Black Bear Guest House was the best experience we have had with a bed and breakfast thus far. It is perfectly located on the most breathtaking, quiet beachfront; complete with gorgeous views of the bird sanctuary which is on the other side of the bay, breathtaking snow capped mountains and the friendly neighbourhood squirrel:) The surfing beach is only a 5 minute walk from the Guest House. You can walk for miles and the views will take your breath away. There is also a great biking/walking trail from the guest house all the way into Tofino. The guest house is new and beautifully built. We stayed in the suite which is done in a nice mix of traditional and contemporary styles. The one bedroom suite was extremely well equipped with all the amenities:) It offered a gorgeous view of the bay and was peaceful and quiet. Jay and Bobbi are the perfect hosts. They are extremely friendly, informative and yet they give you all the privacy you need. They make you feel at home in their home. I would highly recommend the Black Bear Guest House.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our stay at the Black Bear guest house given us some very happy memories. Its a fantastic home - modern (in a lovely traditional style) cosy and spacious with fantastic views. Bobbi and Jay couldn't have made us feel more welcome and gave us loads of top tips and information about the area and more. We stayed in the Black Bear room which is very comfortable, with a lovely shared bathroom (which we had all to ourselves). It's about 5 mins drive from Tofino and a short stroll from the beach. Everything is spotlessly clean and breakfasts were a real treat. We were welcomed to the table when we arrived back in the evening with a pizza, and beer from the local brewery! A great place all round.

Room tip: The Black Bear room looks out towards the rear of the house and yard (which is all very pleasant). There's decked area with chairs to relax on. The Inlet room also has a balcony and is to the front of the house overlooking the tidal bay which is a picture!
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viki n Bax H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Lovely guesthouse. Room very comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Coffee wonderful. Hosts very friendly. Don't go there with others, you will have to be quiet at 9:30 pm and lights out at 10:30! Otherwise great place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for the review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We find that most of our guests do appreciate a lower volume around 10:30 pm. Although it is not a strict policy, as a B&B we find it's more of a courtesy to other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Life does not always treat you well, but if your road takes you to the Black Bear Guesthouse, you just know, that life is not so bad afterall.
The house and views give you more than what you paid for, but what Bobby & Jay give you as hosts, is priceless.

Forever grateful for an unforgettable 30th birthday,

Your friend from Luxembourg.

(if you want to experience Tofino like I say in the subject, just ask Jay!)

Room tip: Ask for the lakeview room.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay, from start to finish Jay and Bobbi made our stay memorable. Not only were they fantastic hosts, but a wealth of knowledge about the area with great suggestions and recommendations for local businesses and sites. No details are overlooked and the suite is exquisite and equipped with everything we could have possibly needed for our weekend away. In a quiet forested area only 5 minutes to town and a short stroll to beaches, we came home feeling refreshed and relaxed. I would highly recommend staying here and will definitely be coming back the next time we are in Tofino. Thank you again, you two are wonderful!!

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews