We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly to non staff friends. Also very homophobic.”

Dublin Crossing Vancouver
Ranked #813 of 3,543 Restaurants in Vancouver
Neighbourhood: Marpole
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Marpole
Reviewed 28 January 2021

I have been going to this establishment for years. Handy to my home. But overtime the menu improved but the atmosphere has worsen.

Its very clicky. Staff often spend most of the time lingering with their clicky homophobic friends. They are also known for repeating things they know about clientele with other coworkers but then some of those workers are telling their friends and other guests all your history.

Daytime lacks staff and often is ones in the kitchen and the bartenders are outside smoking, your left without service. No one to greet you at the entrance and when busy left to seat yourself and quite often the tables are not washed down.

Main bar area seats customers arm to arm. No plexiglass between and often people not from the same households sitting too close to strangers.

Conversations are overheard and then taken out of context.

Waitresses only see 5% of tips and the tipping on their machine starts at 18%. So I think when your tipping mostly for the waitresses this doesn't seem right. Its not for waste, spoilage cause these are covered in the food prices.

The food is good but slightly over priced.

Customers are allowed to move about the room to socialize with others but its a pandemic and this one old disabled guy a regular claims an accountant does so and often without facecoverings. He never showers and smells so bad. If your eating don't sit next to him.

Very clicky and should only be open to staff and friends as otherwise service is lacking. The manager is never to be seen to comment or to see what really goes on and only gets what that staff wants him to hear often incorrect.

If you are gay,lesbian, transgender this is not a place for you. The staff and their friends will be sure to make you feel uncomfortable and sit gossiping. And if you frequent too often they'll create reasons to discriminate and rid you from visiting.

The general manager also makes you feel out of place when he's there.

Come on guys get over it, its 2021. Equality for all. Not like guys are kissing or practically doing it inside the pub unlike straight and some staff do.

Not a friendly place at all, too pricey and don't follow covid protocols fully.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Petloveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2020

Stopped by here for dinner. The food was fantastic as was the service. Would defineately eat here again when we are in Vancouver.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank gabspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Every time it changes manager every time the food is getting worse. Good selection of beers but the food has nothing to do with Ireland. The Irish stew is a disaster. Can the cook looks for the real recipe online? That doesn't seem too difficult.
I was so disappointed. No more trying in this fake Irish pub.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DCWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed an excellent dining experience at Dublin Crossing. Sat in the enclosed patio with blankets during December. Enjoyed a hot bowl of seafood stew. The menu is loaded with tasty options. I chose the schnitzel which was tender with an array of veggies, sauerkraut, and mashed potatoes.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank mariedesjardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2020

Solid Dublin feel to this pub. Unfortunately a few mediocre impressions that will keep us stuck to the drinks only and probably at the bar. We arrived at happy hour, and as is usual of all Vancouver establishments that is not promoted, mentioned or encouraged. It's like the staff resent it and don't want to reduce the bills. So not until after our drinks arrived that we realized it was happy hour and had to ask about the deals. The food we ordered (mini stuffed yorkshires with mashed potatoes and gravy looked good...but were microwaved and chewy with not enough gravy. When I asked for more I was charged. The server was a charming person who seemed to have never been trained in how to keep an eye on a table. There is no need to smother us with "How is everything" but the occassional pass by to collect dirty dishes that in fact were not removed even as we were leaving. Train your staff please, try to turn the corner on Vancouver's reputation for bad service and mediocre food.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heathermX5391LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Crossing Vancouver also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Dublin Crossing Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.