We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BC Lions game”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 22 August 2017

10 minute walk to BC Place. We had a large King room, it was adequate for a 3 start hotel, a bit worn and tired looking but clean and quiet. We had a King bed with a sitting area with couch and chairs and large table big enough to entertain another couple before the game. Staff were very nice.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E6160RTandreas, Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience, here at the hotel. We will look into the issues with items that may look warn out. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff.

Warmest Regards,

Moda hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

we booked the Moda for a recent trip to Vancouver. We were surprised that the room looked much smaller than the hotel pics suggested , and not quite as well appointed. There was very little storage space for hanging clothes , bathroom sink was cracked and the sprinkler pipe running across the ceiling didn't look very good. It's 3 storey hotel downtown , so there was plenty of traffic noise especially as it's on a junction (and plenty of traffic roar when the traffic signals change ,) which the double glazing doesn't really block out.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank norcol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Our Room did have an A/C unit in the room which kept the room a nice temp. The location was great and parking was secure across the street in a garage. The staff was nice and helpful. The hotel was great but I did find Vancouver to be dirty. Trash on the sidewalks and streets. Some areas smelled of urine...
The Steam Clock in Gastown is a must see on the hour. It plays the Westminster Quarters and blows smoke on the hour. Cool Show.

Room Tip: My room was quiet 335 and had a nice size bed and good size room and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAHeather151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

First of all, this is a very small, boutique-type hotel. My guess is, it's privately owned. Second, the staff is WONDERFUL. They were all so helpful and kind. The place looks as though it's been fairly recently renovated. The original building is very old... probably historic.

When we arrived, the front desk clerk immediately informed us that there had been no A/C for a week. Apparently, they were having work done on it, but they didn't anticipate having it for yet another week. They offered us a 20% discount on an already excellent rate if we'd go ahead and stay. Since it was only one night, we accepted.

Our room was on the second floor and was quite adequate. There was a very nice computerized safe for our belongings and fortunately, we were able to open the windows. Everything was clean as a whistle, aside from one small patch on the bathroom ceiling that looked as though there had been a leak and it was starting to mold.

Sadly, this hotel appears to be rather near a questionable part of town. Also, there is a bar attached to it. Because we had to open the windows, it took us awhile to get to sleep, since it was a Friday night and people were partying two stories below. We were really tired, and eventually got to sleep, despite a lot of outside city noise that went on all night long. The beds were very nice.

Because I booked through Orbitz, the front desk staff said they'd have to contact Orbitz for my 20% off refund. I have to say in the defense of the hotel that our refund happened within two or three days after our stay. I was really impressed with their integrity.

If I ever returned to Vancouver for a short stay, I would consider this hotel again. Hopefully, their A/C would be fixed!

Room Tip: Perhaps try requesting a room AWAY from the bar side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hyker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and the room was not ready, but we were allowed to park our car early in the parking lot next building ($14 per night). The parking area that's designated for the hotel guests is gated, so we felt safe to keep our car there. The room was small, which was okay, but it did not give out a fresh, clean feeling. The bathroom had a funky smell and there was hair in the sink and on the toilet when we first walked in (yuck). Also, the AC was not working, but the hotel provided a fan. The room was cool with the window open, but it was very loud at night since the room was facing a busy street. Even with these issues, we might stay here again in the future because the location was great (very close to shops and restaurants), as well as good parking option.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcccylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#53 of 92 in Vancouver
882 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
425 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#41 of 92 in Vancouver
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $115 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing