We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$152
US$136
View deal
SAVE US$16
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
Expedia.com
US$152
US$136
View deal
SAVE US$16
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
PricelineUS$152
TravelocityUS$136
Trip.comUS$139
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,190)
Filter reviews
2,190 results
Traveller rating
1,051
823
197
69
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,051
823
197
69
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stanley park overlooking english bay historic hotel denman street west end there is no air conditioning sea wall granville island an older hotel fabulous location love this hotel lots of restaurants visit vancouver corner room ivy lounge seawall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,190 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love the heritage feel of this hotel and it was very nice. When I checked in, my original room number was crossed out and a room on a lower floor was over written in pen. I asked why, and I was told that because I was single and only staying one night, others had priority over the room. I found this a bit discriminatory and unfair. I had booked well in advance to secure a higher floor, but someone decided I was not as important as a couple staying multiple days. Apparently people who travel solo are not as valued as couples or families.

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brianf202165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaetan Bottier, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. I'm glad you enjoyed our Hotel and our location. I'm very sorry you felt your booking was downgraded and the reason why leaves me quite confused unless it is rate related. I would invite to reach out to me directly should wish to voice these concerns further.

Warm regards,
Gaetan Bottier, gaetan@sylviahotel.com

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My cat and I needed a place to stay for a day while our home was under renovation, so we chose the nearby Sylvia Hotel. We were given a beautiful, quiet and very spacious suite where I had a productive work day and kitty had room to play. The front desk staff were so friendly, kind and accommodating! I also had a delicious brunch at the Sylvia's Restaurant outside on their patio overlooking English Bay where the service was outstanding. I highly recommend a stay at the Sylvia Hotel whether for business or for leisure.

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martine_and_Oreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaetan Bottier, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Martine and Oreo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

It is very appreciated!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Gaetan Bottier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful, historic and comfortable hotel that makes you feel welcome the minute you walk through the doors and the location and views can not be beat! Due to Covid 19 dining was room service or on the terrace. Weather was perfect for breakfast and brunch on the terrace. Food was lovely and all staff were courteous and friendly.

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carolyn48H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaetan Bottier, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

It is very appreciated!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Gaetan Bottier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I decided to do a "staycation", as travel is impossible. You are right by the beach, the staff is wonderful, super clean rooms that are huge. You feel like you are in another country....thank you to everyone at the Sylvia, especially at this very trying time. You made our "birthday" celebration very special: thank you so much for the complimentary wine.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pmdkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaetan Bottier, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

It is very appreciated!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Gaetan Bottier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying at The Sylvia Hotel feels like home. The staff is always so welcoming. I also stayed here 2 years ago and had the same server this visit, must be a great place to work to have staff for 15 years! I will stay at The Sylvia whenever I am in Vancouver.

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DMuzychka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaetan Bottier, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review.
It is very appreciated!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Gaetan Bottier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews