We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$452
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$400
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$345
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$592
US$525
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$672
US$528
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$409
US$326
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$372
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$382
US$341
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$394
US$377
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$911
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
664
84
28
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
84
28
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeak roombeach roommountain roomgarden suitewest endrobson streetstanley parkb and bfresh baked cookiesbreakfast was delicioustree lined streetwithin walking distancequiet neighborhoodeach morningdowntown vancouverthree nightslittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have had a lovely stay at Barclay House b&b.

We stayed for 4 nights in the Peak room, a large open plan room at the top of the house with the added bonus of a wet bar, lovely ensuite bathroom with bathtub and a comfortable sitting area.
Thanks to Dennis for the tasty breakfasts and excellent advice on the local area, with suggestions for things to do and see.
The house is in an ideal location in downtown Vancouver close to many many restaurants and bars on Robson st and Denman st. There are also some lovely walks around the area from Stanley Park to the bay areas which are all easily accessible. One recommendation would be Bin 941, a restaurant on Davie St, a little place with good local beers and fantastic food, its only small so there may be a squeeze to get in but the food is worth it.
Back to Barclay House...if you expect high quality local accommodation in a fantastic city don't look any further.

Kind regards Darren and Lynne

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank dlcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Fabulous guest house in the heart of Vancouver. Our room, 'Forest' was lovely, beautiful decor, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and the seperate sitting area with tv was an added bonus. The extra touches like proper glasses, cookies on arrival and a coffee making machine were great. Dennis is a wonderful host, so helpful and his breakfasts are delicious and different every day so always something to look forward to. The table settings are lovely and everything feels really special.

The location is ideal as you can walk to Stanley Park, Harbour, Robson Street and restaurants. The area is safe and friendly, we just hope we can make a return visit.

Room Tip: The Forest room had a seperate tv, sitting area which was great. We didn't see the other rooms but know they would all be good.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shirleyahwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for five blissful nights toward the end of April while her parents watched our kids and gave us some much-needed couple time. We were so impressed! Dennis was a wonderful host and a wonderful cook. The breakfasts were elegant, delicious, and well-balanced. The room, and its jacuzzi, were beautifully appointed and so romantic. We were right in the heart of everything, yet it was quiet and serene. Really couldn't have been more pleased, especially considering the very reasonable price. Thanks so much!

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our third time staying at the beautiful Barclay house, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Vancouver. We were sad to hear that Arty was no longer there but none the less Dennis was still there. He really made our stay most enjoyable as usual with his witty humour and charming personality. I really highly recommend this beautiful old restored mini mansion in all of its charm and beautiful furnishings, its really like staying in a beautiful boutique hotel. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the breakfast are to die for. Five stars all around

Room Tip: The beach room is my favorite, its at the front of the house and lots of natural light, plus it has a fireplace and a separate sitting area.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pokeynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Thank you Dennis for our stay in your beautiful house. The B&B was friendly, well placed, the breakfasts were great and the room was just lovely. I look forward to when I can return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank REJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews