We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband & I just spent 5 nights at the Barclay House Bed & Breakfast...it was amazing...we stayed in the Haidaway Room with the Jacuzzi Tub...spacious and comfortable. Dennis prepared a fabulous breakfast every morning. The location was perfect..close to everything. You can walk, take the Hop on Bus or a taxi to everything. We can't wait to go back!!!! You will love it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cmkeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 434 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have had a lovely stay at Barclay House b&b.

We stayed for 4 nights in the Peak room, a large open plan room at the top of the house with the added bonus of a wet bar, lovely ensuite bathroom with bathtub and a comfortable sitting area.
Thanks to Dennis for the tasty breakfasts and excellent advice on the local area, with suggestions for things to do and see.
The house is in an ideal location in downtown Vancouver close to many many restaurants and bars on Robson st and Denman st. There are also some lovely walks around the area from Stanley Park to the bay areas which are all easily accessible. One recommendation would be Bin 941, a restaurant on Davie St, a little place with good local beers and fantastic food, its only small so there may be a squeeze to get in but the food is worth it.
Back to Barclay House...if you expect high quality local accommodation in a fantastic city don't look any further.

Kind regards Darren and Lynne

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank dlcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Fabulous guest house in the heart of Vancouver. Our room, 'Forest' was lovely, beautiful decor, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and the seperate sitting area with tv was an added bonus. The extra touches like proper glasses, cookies on arrival and a coffee making machine were great. Dennis is a wonderful host, so helpful and his breakfasts are delicious and different every day so always something to look forward to. The table settings are lovely and everything feels really special.

The location is ideal as you can walk to Stanley Park, Harbour, Robson Street and restaurants. The area is safe and friendly, we just hope we can make a return visit.

Room Tip: The Forest room had a seperate tv, sitting area which was great. We didn't see the other rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shirleyahwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for five blissful nights toward the end of April while her parents watched our kids and gave us some much-needed couple time. We were so impressed! Dennis was a wonderful host and a wonderful cook. The breakfasts were elegant, delicious, and well-balanced. The room, and its jacuzzi, were beautifully appointed and so romantic. We were right in the heart of everything, yet it was quiet and serene. Really couldn't have been more pleased, especially considering the very reasonable price. Thanks so much!

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our third time staying at the beautiful Barclay house, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Vancouver. We were sad to hear that Arty was no longer there but none the less Dennis was still there. He really made our stay most enjoyable as usual with his witty humour and charming personality. I really highly recommend this beautiful old restored mini mansion in all of its charm and beautiful furnishings, its really like staying in a beautiful boutique hotel. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the breakfast are to die for. Five stars all around

Room Tip: The beach room is my favorite, its at the front of the house and lots of natural light, plus it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pokeynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,069 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,860 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
693 reviews
West End
O Canada House
O Canada House
#3 of 56 in Vancouver
438 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 56 in Vancouver
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $116 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing