We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful in most every way”

Giardino Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 4,147 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$75
Neighbourhood: West End
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: West End
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Large party for dinner. Very comfortable and classic feeling. Patio area looked great for a nice evening. Had the gazpacho appetizer which was good but OMG the char special was delicious with an over the top lemon sauce. Great cheesecake to end the evening. Service was a bit pretentious but attentive.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank xx_familyguy_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Best ceasar salad and butternut squash soup in Vancouver . Lots of yummy Italian options and all the meats have been fabulous. Haven't had a bad dish or something I wasn't fond of

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank candiceo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We choose this place based on reports from friends. It was excellent from the moment we handed our car over to the valet parking and the front desk. Our waiter Tony was very very professional and helpful without being intrusive. We had the special for the evening and it was delicious as were the appetizers before. This restaurant left one feeling you got good Excellent value. Thanks to all the staff who did a super job.
Carl and Dorothy
Ps.. even tho the place was busy the noise level was minimal due to the lovely vaulted ceilings .. a addded treat for all ages.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

My first visit to the reincarnation of Il Giardino had been as a guest for dinner in November 2016. My wife, who was not with me on that occasion was very keen to experience it and so on a recent visit to Vancouver, we went for lunch. All of my impressions from the November meal were reinforced. Il Giardino is as good as ever. I had a wonderful quail risotto while my wife who has exacting standards when it comes to liver pronounced her dish superb. The wine list is not cheap but very carefully chosen with a number of suitably aged wines available at prices that did not break the bank. The Gloria Ferrer Sonoma Brut by the glass was very tasty as was the Bellafonte Sagrentino that we chose to accompany our main course. The service was both welcoming and competent and our overall experience very positive.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Our first visit to the, no longer new, Giardino and it's back on our list of favourite spots in the city. We loved the original and didn't think the new one could live up to it but surprisingly it does. The food is still outstanding, every dish we had was perfection. The special starter was a deliciously fresh crab & pineapple salad - so good! Our server perfectly paired my wines with each course without serving the most expensive glasses on their list, which I appreciated. The decor is beautiful and still has the familiar old world feel. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and experienced. On an average Wednesday, we were lucky to get a last minute reservation as it quickly filled up. It's one of the higher priced restaurants in the city but we both thought it was worth it in the quality of the food, the lovely ambiance and excellent service.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RedE2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giardino Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Giardino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing