We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,407)
Filter reviews
4,407 results
Traveller rating
2,360
1,145
519
254
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,360
1,145
519
254
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bengal lounge high tea afternoon tea gold floor bengal room president's club tea room old world beautiful hotel deluxe room air conditioning scones butchart gardens harbour view british columbia parliament building visiting victoria
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 4,407 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

My one regret is that I was only able to stay for one night. The hotel is gorgeous and in a central and very convenient location with views of the Parliament building and the harbor. Our room was gorgeous and spacious. Bathrooms a little on the small size but expected in a historic hotel. Grounds are gorgeous and service is impeccable. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious and server, Cecelia was incredibly friendly. We loved our brief stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your night with us and do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Victoria is an amazing place and the hotel was totally the icing on the cake. The room and staff were even more than we expected. Right from the moment we drove up to the door and the very kind and efficient doorman who organised our cases and arranged for the car to be parked for us. All the staff were exceptionally helpful could not fault it. It was a lovely place to spend our last few days in Canada. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays_yippee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

We sincerely appreciate your lovely feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your last few days in Canada with us! We hope we shall have the opportunity to serve you again soon! Thank you.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

This is our 6th and final Fairmont and the old girl didn’t disappoint. Our room is newly renovated and very comfortable. The location is perfect with water views and located on the Main Street so shopping, food and everything is so handy. The best spot in town. Check it out !

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Cruiserkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for the lovely feedback. How wonderful that you have enjoyed so many of our sister properties. Our location is truly magnificent. We hope you will visit us again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

While we didn’t stay at the Empress on our most recent visit to Victoria, we went for a walk inside to have a look at the recent renovations. They have been beautifully done. The chandeliers are spectacular. The shops appear to be the same as they have always been, very classy. The Bengal Room, which was always our favourite Victoria restaurant, is now a party room.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Golferboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for the kind feedback regarding our recent restorations to our beautiful property. The chandelier in our beautiful lobby is truly magnificent with over 250,000 crystals. We hope we shall welcome you to stay one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Prior to arrival, we learned that the Empress is one of Victoria's top tourist attractions: and it was easy to see why. Impressive from the outside, it is equally so inside. We had a harbour-view room, which was a real bonus. The room and bathroom were both well proportioned and lacked nothing in quality and fitments. I was particularly taken by the walk-in wardrobe cum dressing room.
Our breakfasts were excellent (not buffet style) and we also enjoyed our afternoon tea experience. The staff in all services we encountered were top-notch.
On the down-side, I was a bit surprised to learn on arrival (around lunch-time) that our room would not be ready until late afternoon. And while afternoon tea was memorable, I felt that the price was rather high, especially if (as we did) you chose to have the optional glass of champagne.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

We appreciate your taking the time to provide your feedback. Our check in time is 4 pm however we try our best to accommodate guests who arrive earlier. This is sometime however difficult depending on occupancy of the hotel the night before. I am pleased to read your comments about our incredible staff. Thank you.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews