We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$287
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites(Victoria)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
US$185
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$176
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$426
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$104
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,215)
Filter reviews
4,215 results
Traveller rating
2,254
1,092
501
243
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,254
1,092
501
243
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbengal loungehigh teagold floorbengal roompresident's clubtea roomceiling fanold worldbeautiful hotelair conditioningharbor view roomsconesbutchart gardensbritish columbiainner harborparliament buildingvisiting victoria
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 4,215 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My one regret is that I was only able to stay for one night. The hotel is gorgeous and in a central and very convenient location with views of the Parliament building and the harbor. Our room was gorgeous and spacious. Bathrooms a little on the small size but expected in a historic hotel. Grounds are gorgeous and service is impeccable. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious and server, Cecelia was incredibly friendly. We loved our brief stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your night with us and do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Victoria is an amazing place and the hotel was totally the icing on the cake. The room and staff were even more than we expected. Right from the moment we drove up to the door and the very kind and efficient doorman who organised our cases and arranged for the car to be parked for us. All the staff were exceptionally helpful could not fault it. It was a lovely place to spend our last few days in Canada. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays_yippee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We sincerely appreciate your lovely feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your last few days in Canada with us! We hope we shall have the opportunity to serve you again soon! Thank you.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

This is our 6th and final Fairmont and the old girl didn’t disappoint. Our room is newly renovated and very comfortable. The location is perfect with water views and located on the Main Street so shopping, food and everything is so handy. The best spot in town. Check it out !

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Cruiserkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback. How wonderful that you have enjoyed so many of our sister properties. Our location is truly magnificent. We hope you will visit us again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

While we didn’t stay at the Empress on our most recent visit to Victoria, we went for a walk inside to have a look at the recent renovations. They have been beautifully done. The chandeliers are spectacular. The shops appear to be the same as they have always been, very classy. The Bengal Room, which was always our favourite Victoria restaurant, is now a party room.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Golferboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind feedback regarding our recent restorations to our beautiful property. The chandelier in our beautiful lobby is truly magnificent with over 250,000 crystals. We hope we shall welcome you to stay one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Prior to arrival, we learned that the Empress is one of Victoria's top tourist attractions: and it was easy to see why. Impressive from the outside, it is equally so inside. We had a harbour-view room, which was a real bonus. The room and bathroom were both well proportioned and lacked nothing in quality and fitments. I was particularly taken by the walk-in wardrobe cum dressing room.
Our breakfasts were excellent (not buffet style) and we also enjoyed our afternoon tea experience. The staff in all services we encountered were top-notch.
On the down-side, I was a bit surprised to learn on arrival (around lunch-time) that our room would not be ready until late afternoon. And while afternoon tea was memorable, I felt that the price was rather high, especially if (as we did) you chose to have the optional glass of champagne.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

We appreciate your taking the time to provide your feedback. Our check in time is 4 pm however we try our best to accommodate guests who arrive earlier. This is sometime however difficult depending on occupancy of the hotel the night before. I am pleased to read your comments about our incredible staff. Thank you.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews