We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$288
US$251
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$317
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$310
US$212
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Accent Inn Victoria(Victoria)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$207
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,219)
Filter reviews
4,219 results
Traveller rating
2,257
1,092
501
243
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,257
1,092
501
243
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbengal loungehigh teagold floorbengal roompresident's clubtea roomceiling fanold worldbeautiful hotelair conditioningharbor view roomsconesbutchart gardensbritish columbiainner harborparliament buildingvisiting victoria
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 4,219 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our tea. Had a 1:30 reservation which they didn’t seat us until 1:45 right next to crying/whining child. I think people should be warned, with as close together as they sit you together, if you will be in a child friendly section. I would have chosen adult only section. The tea and food was great but environment, with child, was unacceptable.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for providing your feedback which I will ensure is shared. We are pleased that you enjoyed our tea offering and do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

My one regret is that I was only able to stay for one night. The hotel is gorgeous and in a central and very convenient location with views of the Parliament building and the harbor. Our room was gorgeous and spacious. Bathrooms a little on the small size but expected in a historic hotel. Grounds are gorgeous and service is impeccable. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious and server, Cecelia was incredibly friendly. We loved our brief stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your night with us and do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Victoria is an amazing place and the hotel was totally the icing on the cake. The room and staff were even more than we expected. Right from the moment we drove up to the door and the very kind and efficient doorman who organised our cases and arranged for the car to be parked for us. All the staff were exceptionally helpful could not fault it. It was a lovely place to spend our last few days in Canada. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays_yippee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We sincerely appreciate your lovely feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your last few days in Canada with us! We hope we shall have the opportunity to serve you again soon! Thank you.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

This is our 6th and final Fairmont and the old girl didn’t disappoint. Our room is newly renovated and very comfortable. The location is perfect with water views and located on the Main Street so shopping, food and everything is so handy. The best spot in town. Check it out !

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Cruiserkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback. How wonderful that you have enjoyed so many of our sister properties. Our location is truly magnificent. We hope you will visit us again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

While we didn’t stay at the Empress on our most recent visit to Victoria, we went for a walk inside to have a look at the recent renovations. They have been beautifully done. The chandeliers are spectacular. The shops appear to be the same as they have always been, very classy. The Bengal Room, which was always our favourite Victoria restaurant, is now a party room.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Golferboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind feedback regarding our recent restorations to our beautiful property. The chandelier in our beautiful lobby is truly magnificent with over 250,000 crystals. We hope we shall welcome you to stay one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews