We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Craigdarroch Castle
from US$36.37
More Info
from US$83.13
More Info
from US$185.08
More Info
from US$30.79
More Info
Reviews (3,048)
Filter reviews
3,048 results
Traveller rating
1,615
1,091
286
47
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,615
1,091
286
47
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dunsmuir family self guided tour coal baron robert dunsmuir military hospital family history beautiful woodwork four floors period pieces old mansion interesting history victorian era stained glass piece of history step back in time own pace answer questions
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 3,048 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Not as good as I expected. The stain glass windows were the best part of the castle. There were several rooms with either just information panels in them or nothing at all in them. The volunteers in the Castle, were good and gave a lot of info.

It takes 1-1 1/2 hours to visit, depending whether you want to sit through the 30 min. film. Not worth the $27 my husband and I had to spend to get into it.

I have been to Pittock Mansion in Oregon. Now there is a impressive building and grounds to visit.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

They claim this is a castle but really it just looks like a nice house... plus, it was a long walk to get here from where my cruise ship docked but my gf just had to see it. Needless to say she owed me one ;)

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank royboy9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

If I am to be completely honest it did not meet my expectations. The outside is beautiful but the inside is a bit disappointing. I have had the opportunity to visit a few castles and old homes throughout the past few years and this one just didn’t do it for me. Currently a few of the rooms are being remodeled so that takes quiet a bit away. There’s also a few rooms that are completely empty, not really sure what’s going on with them. The rooms are also pretty dark so it’s hard to see. All things considered I think it’s not worth $15.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Tarielovena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Spent a whole afternoon here and thoroughly enjoyed the family story and the recreation of the castle to match the story.
Loved the large flip cards featuring the history, only issue was there was a visiting tour who were obviously impatient so they were moving the flip cards when others were still reading the detail with no apology.
Staff extremely friendly and informative. Easy to get to, just hop on local bus and a short walk from bus stop.
Overall very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Nice house to see after a long walk from the bus stop. Not anything to rival its namesake...but ok if you have time to kill.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank travelingdoc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews