We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy programming”

IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.38*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #2 of 24 Fun & Games in Victoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: With crystal clear images, wraparound digital surround sound, and advanced IMAX(R) with Laser projection technology, IMAX(R) Victoria lets you feel like you're really there. Six stories high and 81 feet wide, the screen pulls you in! 7 million people locally have been spellbound by the force and beauty of The IMAX(R) Experience. Technically advanced and visually, it is the most powerful and immersive movie experience in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The films are of course exceptional but the programming really sucks. There are so many extraordinary natural history films available now, yet we're subjected to "America's Musical Journey", not to mention a minute selection of "blockbuster" films.
This theatre could do much, much better.

Thank r n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear r n,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment. We regret to learn that we've disappointed you with our current film program. Unlike the multiplexes with multiple screens and due to the specialty nature of the large format films we don't open new films every week and we aim balance the schedule with a variety of different films and topics.

As you may know, in addition to America's Musical Journey we also have HURRICANE, Museum Alive and The Search for Life in Space on the schedule. Pandas will open on April 27th and Mysteries of Egypt on May 18th. On the Hollywood front, Star Wars ends April 5, DUNKIRK (the IMAX 4K laser full screen version) returns April 6 for two weeks by demand) and likely Black Panther will follow shortly after that.

If you have some IMAX films you would like to see return or programmed, please drop me a list offline and I'd be happy to take a look - pwild@imaxvictoria.com.

Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"big screen"
in 53 reviews
"annual pass"
in 39 reviews
"film festival"
in 12 reviews
"rocky mountain express"
in 19 reviews
"sound quality"
in 11 reviews
"seasons pass"
in 9 reviews
"comfortable seats"
in 17 reviews
"great sound"
in 10 reviews
"star wars"
in 9 reviews
"the royal bc museum"
in 40 reviews
"ice age"
in 10 reviews
"rainy day"
in 25 reviews
"british columbia"
in 13 reviews
"films"
in 130 reviews
"theatre"
in 210 reviews
"laser"
in 36 reviews
"projector"
in 17 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

IMAX Victoria is pretty awesome. There’s just no other way to put it. At an impressive six stories high and 81 feet wide, this IMAX screen is the largest one in BC. Sometimes the 3D features are so spot on, and so real, that you feel as though you are actually part of the film. It’s an experience that my partner and I enjoy whenever we’re downtown together. Throw in some excellent snacks (the popcorn always tastes fresh and the hotdogs are great!) and you get an experience that meets or even beats large cinemas like the Colossus in Langley.

The short 40 or so minute films usually complement existing exhibits in the Royal BC Museum and thus add yet another layer to the overall experience. We’ve seen a number of films and none have been “boring;” rather, all have been informative and immerse you in the 3D experience. Cinematography and picture quality has been nothing short of stunning. My personal favourites so far? “Dream Big: Engineering Our World,” “Hurricane” and “Rocky Mountain Express.” We always look forward to seeing what’s coming down the proverbial pipeline.

Finally, I would be remiss if I failed to mention that IMAX Victoria also shows big Hollywood hits on its impressive screen – usually in the evenings. So far, I’ve only seen one: “The Polar Express,” which played during the holiday season. It was pretty awesome to see this modern day classic on the big screen.

Thus, if you find yourself in Victoria then you should do yourself a favour and, 1) Visit the BC Royal Museum; and, 2) Check out an IMAX movie or two. Both experiences go hand in hand. Recommended!

PS: The ads that play prior to the movie worked! After seeing the Old Spaghetti Factory ad numerous times (it’s right across the street!), we felt compelled to check them out! Excellent food and also recommended for an inexpensive, quality meal!

Thank PookyCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear PookyCake,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a thorough and useful review for others. Isn't that what TripAdvisor's all about! :)
You might be interested to know that we've just opened America's Musical Journey, Pandas will open on April 27th and Mysteries of Egypt on May 18th (In addition to Museum Alive and The Search for Life in Space still on the schedule).

We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

My friend and I each purchased an annual IMAX pass and just 3 months in already feel we have received superb value. We each live close enough to walk to the IMAX so make a habit of having a meal - before/after/mid-point - to the movie(s) we are seeing. Popcorn is good too!

Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Joanne,
Thank you very much for being an IMAX Victoria Annual Pass holder.
We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you as the rest of the year unfolds.
Pandas opens on April 27th and Mysteries of Egypt on May 18.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

It has been SO long since I've seen an IMAX movie on the big screen. It was truly amazing. The 3D is so real, you feel like you're in it. What a fun night out and I learned a lot too. Definitely would recommend.

Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Kristi,
Many thanks for posting a review and for your recent visit! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience after your hiatus away from the BIG screen. We do hope we'll have another opportunity to host you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We get to Victoria Imax as often as we can. The quality of the films are excellent with 4K and surround sound like no where else. With the annual pass we can see as many films as we want. It only takes 3 or 4 films to get your money's worth. Try it! You will love it!

Thank _ltower407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear _ltower407,
Thank you for your nice review and for being IMAX Victoria Pass holders.
We appreciate you including us when you're in town and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing