We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$286
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$197
US$186
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$211
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
US$458
US$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
US$269
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$291/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,643 results
Traveller rating
1,189
359
64
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
359
64
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfront suitegreat locationbreakfast roomfull kitchenwharf streetlarge living roomcomplimentary breakfastcity viewinner harborone bedroom suitewithin walking distancethe penthouseunderground parkingwater viewparliament buildingwonderful staybeds were very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,462 - 1,467 of 1,643 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Regent. While not an ultra-modern hotel, it had everything we were looking for. The King View suite had a very large living area, complete kitchen, dining area, and separate bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. The entire room was very clean. The balcony was just what I wanted - a place to sit and read with the Parliament building and harbor directly in front of me. The price was very reasonable for what we received.
There are some drawbacks. The breakfast area was of moderate size, but there were only cold offerings - cereal, fruit, muffins, toast, etc. Good coffee, though. There is no restaurant to return to in the evening, but the hotel is surrounded by great eateries right on the water within easy walking distance. Yes, the hotel is on Wharf St., but we enjoyed that. It put us on a direct path to the Inner Harbor. There is a small bar/cafe in the same building (but separate from the hotel). The noise from the eatery was considerable on two of the three nights that we were there, but it was certainly tolerable. It was in no way overwhelming. Victoria is a city. One should expect sounds from the city.
We rented a car during our 4 day stay. Free parking. In this day and age, that's extremely rare. Just another example of the nice touches that we noticed. The staff were very friendly and eager to give a local's recommendation for places to eat.
Lastly, we were traveling with our 11 month old son. While that can be a challenge in and of itself, we were very thankful to return to our clean, large suite, a nice bathroom, and a quiet bedroom where he could sleep in his crib and we could relax in the living room.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbor view room. This probably made the difference for us compared to other reviewers.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FishWY41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Perched out over the water, rooms provide fantastic views of Parliament Building and Inner Harbor. Rooms spacious, modern and well appointed. Fine restaurants within short walking distance. Hotel breakfast room provides beautiful views, but very little food. Needs pancake/waffle machine and hot eggs & bacon to round out experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SailorGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We selected The Victoria Regent for a quick visit to the Inner Harbour. We had an extended stay in the Hong Kong Regent some years ago... the similarities begin and end with the name...The photos of the Victoria Regent on the website are so deceiving. There is no bar or anywhere to sit and enjoy the view shown on the website. That beautiful room shown on the website is not available to the public. Guests can only enjoy the view of the harbor while eating breakfast;(

And then there is the traffic on Wharf Street. The only worse hotel traffic noise is in Grand Case on the island of St. Martin...

Oh so very disappointing. Not worth the $$$

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here - fork out the extra hundreds and stay on the water side.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweep5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Victoria Regent Hotel. First, let me say that we do not claim to have any affiliation with the Regent chain. Our website has a picture of our Deluxe hotel rooms and an accompanying description. The picture shows a city skyline view and the description clearly states that the view is of the city, not the harbour. In no way are we attempting to deceive the people making reservations.

Our rooms and suites are priced according to size and view. Yes, the waterfont suites are more expensive but the difference in price is certainly not "hundreds". We do not claim to have a bar overlooking the water and we do not restrict our guests' access to the public areas. The breakfast room is the only public area and it overlooks the harbour.

If you choose to stay in Victoria in the future, please contact me and I will do my best to upgrade you to harbour view accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We completed our 2 week grand cruise adventure throughout Alaska and Canada and this was a great tranquil retreat for a final ending. What a great surprise! It was an incredible place to rest, recover and regenerate with a huge picturesque window view of a thriving island city which made the large screen tv totally unnecessary. Great location to everything as it is all walkable. The beds outranked our personal favorite, The Westin. We found the staff exceptional and very accommodating. We would (and have) recommended this hotel to others and plan on returning to Victoria with family since the rooms are huge in a beautiful city!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjw179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Victoria and at the Victoria Regent Hotel. Your comments about the comfort of our beds and our exceptional staff are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I are currently staying at this hotel and have found the bed to be uninhabitable. Concreate for a mattress and bricks for a pillow. We would switch rooms but the hotel staff has said that they are all full for the night, with a one night penalty If we were to leave without giving 3 days notice. The location of the hotel is ideal but without the ability of getting a good night's sleep this has not been a very good experience. The Delta Hotel is similar in price and good location. I would urge anyone wanting to visit Victoria to avoid this hotel all together and look at the Delta as a reputable alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

I was completely surprised to read your review regarding the comfort of our beds and pillows. I would ask Trip Advisor readers to refer to other reviews, especially those posted on April 23 and 24 of this year, wherein our guests have raved about the comfort of the beds and pillows. We have shipped these pillows to former guests across the country and abroad. We would never insist on 3 days notice if someone wanted to check out early. We do have a one day cancellation penalty, but I am waiving that and have asked my staff to contact you in order that you may check out without penalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews