We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
41
61
21
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
61
21
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper village pool and hot tub minute walk to whistler village great location decent place to stay wizard chair blackcomb lift fresh towels bed apartment wizard express full kitchen family vacation easy access night stay stayed nights front desk staff quiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

As many reviewers have mentioned, Le Chamois is not a luxury building as it bills itself to be. I believe that each unit is individually-owned, so this review if for 504.

Pros: Steps from the Blackcomb lifts, ski school, restaurants, and bus stop to Whistler. I am guessing maybe 50 steps. The building has an agreement with the ski shop in the building and you can store your boards and skis with them overnight. There is also a sushi restaurant in the building that is FANTASTIC. highly recommend that you make reservation. The Fairmont is across the way (15 steps) with great quick dining and shopping. Our condo was absolutely fine. Washer and dryer in the unit. Loved the cabinet of games to play with the family at night.

Be Aware: Furnishings were a bit tired, but the space is functional. If the wifi doesn't work for you (it didn't for us), unplug and plug back in again. The "gym" is 4 machines shoved into a corner by the pool. The pool and hot tub were closed during our stay - we were told that it was shut down by the health department. It doesn't look like it's going to reopen any time soon. We were given the code to use the facilities of the building next door, but we didn't check it out. The front desk is not manned 24 hours a day. Be sure to save the entrance codes in your phone or you may get locked out.

Overall, you just can't beat the location and the space, especially if you are traveling with small kids. My one caveat - if you have beginner skiers, Blackcomb is not where you want to be. The beginner area at Whistler is MUCH better. But that is a post for another board...

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank bluegrass512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Just returned from a great week at Le Chamois. The Hotel is ideally situated at the base of Blackcomb, almost ski to the door and the lifts are only 2 minutes away. We had a Studio (room 301), this was room was great, large and spacious with a large comfy bed, kitchenette, sitting room area with TV and a Jacuzzi Bath which you could sit and watch the world go by outside. There is also a separate toilet and shower.
Value for money, the room was great, especially compared with the Fairmont across the road. The only thing that let the room down is that it could do with a small refurbish, the decor was slightly dated and the kitchen cupboards needed rehanging, none of these were big issues, but with a little TLC it would turn it from a great room to a fantastic room. I understand the pool was out of action whilst we were there, although this was not an issue for us, it maybe for some. Having said that I have no issues in recommending the hotel to friends and family. We will be back one day!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Blackcomb Mountain for the best views, also no noise from the road on the other side.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Magnus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Had nice large studio with own deep bath overlooking Blackomb mountain. Clean and well furnished. Couldn't ask for more. Had underground parking for a fee. Across from Fairmount Chateau where had nice breakfasts and where less equipped rooms are almost double in price.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ivey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay with our teenage son-- the 1br layout was perfect for us with him on the pull out couch and my husband and i in the bedroom. Such a nice luxury to have 2 bathrooms! The location is fantastic just steps from the Blackcomb lifts and a bus stop directly outside the building. We walked into the village every night (10 min) but the bus was a nice alternative when our feet were tired after skiing. We enjoyed the quieter setting away from the hustle bustle of the village. The rental shop downstairs was very accommodating and my husband got great equipment to use. The only thing missing is the pool and hot tub. Hopefuuly it will be repaired soon!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Le Chamois markets itself as a boutique hotel. If that conjures images of ideosyncratic decorations, quaint snugs etc...you'll be mightily disappointed. This is a hotel with rooms. Period. There isn't a restaurant, the pool and hot tub are currently out of commission, the rooms aren't cleaned/refreshed on a daily basis. You get the picture.

Now, let's talk about the positives. The front desk staff are great and very helpful. The location is amazing, just across the way from the Fairmont which has got a couple of great restuarants. The hotel has an agreement with the ski store next door for ski storage and all this is just 50 yards from the chair lift up the mountain. That is all amazing.

I'd definitely revisit but I'd come back knowing what i was getting was a convenient, if basic room, and not the full 'hotel experience'.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews