We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crystal Lodge Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aava Whistler Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$130
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
83
20
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
20
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscross country skiingbackcountry skiinggroomed trailsping pongother guestswood fired saunafresh snowstar mealhighly recommend this experiencechef joeovernight adventurecountry experiencefantastic adventurecold plungecommon rooms arebagged lunchalexander falls
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Friendly staff are very welcoming. Our room (Solitude Suite) was beautiful and cosy! The food was amazing! We had such a great time talking with the other guests in the evening about where they were from (Sweden, Australia, Switzerland) and where they have been. The evening trip to the sauna was a fantastic adventure! This lodge is located perfectly for back country skiing as well. Unforgettable!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Great staff and gorgeous lodge tucked into a winter wonderland. We skidoo-ed in than cross country skied on the first day. Lots of terrain to explore. On the second and third day we ski toured. tough hiking through 2 metres of fresh powder!

Room Tip: If you stay in the family room turn off the heat! it gets waay to hot, especially up top so on the first night it was hard to sleep.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We just had our first experience with Journeyman's lodge for new year's eve and already can't wait to plan to get back there. From the beautiful ski up that has spectacular views, frozen waterfalls, crosses rivers and finally reaching the lodge to being greeted outside and brought in to a crackling fire, warm slippers, tea and a very thoughtful orientation. Surrounded by untouched mountains, the quiet beauty reinforced by being completely off the grid. The wood burning sauna down by the river was an incredible way to refresh for dinner. The food was amazing and plentiful. Overflowing charcuterie platters, fresh baked bread and a large selection of cheeses started our evening. Our gracious hosts were always available to answer a question or give a suggestion. We definitely recommend Journeyman Lodge to anyone who loves the outdoors, the mountains and the snow.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stevie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This was my second visit to the Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge. My last trip was in the spring of 2010 with my father. This time, it was late December, and I was visiting with my boyfriend who had never seen the backcountry. While we were there, the Callaghan was dumped on by 90 cm of fresh pow! It was magnificent! The lodge was packed full of guests (which was quite a difference experience from my last visit where we were the only guests). It was quiet at first as we all kept to ourselves while reading our books in the lodge living room, but we all opened up to share stories of our days experiences when the appies were served. A few folks headed down to the sauna before dinner while the rest of us got started on our self packed wine and continued to chat. It was lovely to meet a variety of guests of all ages. There were some experienced backcountry skiers which I loved chatting with as I dream of one day going up on a backcountry tour myself. They told me there was so much powder up on the ridge that it was up to their shoulders - what an image! The hosts were lovely and catered to the crowd, keeping our dining experience low key and personable. All of the guests seemed to have known them for their whole lives. After dinner, my boyfriend and I headed out to the Sauna and attempted a cold plunge in the stream. By the time we hiked back to the lodge, the generator was off and everyone was in bed for the night. What a great way to ensure you're up early enough for the next days adventures. I'd always recommend a trip to the Callaghan as each visit is special in it's own way!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KellysEchoLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge is a gem. Ski, snow shoe, or catch a ride on the snow mobile to the loge nestled in at the base of solitude mountain. We used our classic skis for the trip up and our skate skis for the trip down. Many people ski up for lunch which is a great day trip. We spent two nights and could have easily stayed longer. exploring the breathtaking country side around the lodge is what makes the lodge special. Wished we had taken our back country skis and skins to explore some of the exceptional terrain. Staff were very hospitable. Food was home cooked and healthy. The outdoor sauna followed by 3 seconds submerged in the ice cold river with shining stars overhead will be a life memory. We will be back with our touring skis. Thank you for keeping this special place going all these years.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms have their own bathroom
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinray2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews