We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
173
106
39
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
106
39
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity pubvirtual golfbeer storeparking lot isyogurtclose to downtowncomplimentary breakfastwithin walking distanceking roomfront desk staffvery nice hoteldowntown winnipegbilliardsvltspetsloungecanada
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Room very small.
Water in tub didn't drain.
Cigarette burns on bathroom sink
Carpet filthy
Reception staff incompetent, very slow / lacked courtesy
Terrible location.
Hotel extremely dark/narrow halls

Room Tip: Don't stay here - waste of money
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnWinnipeg, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Robert W

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our location.

We are sorry to hear that you has some issue with the housekeeping and maintenance of your rooms. We will discuss the issues you raised with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to make sure that they are properly looking after all of the guest rooms.

We are also sorry to hear that you had an issue with the reception staff. The staff that you dealt with was still in training and so was not a quick as the rest of our staff. We will discuss the issues you raised with her, to make sure that she is better able to help our guests in the future.

Hopefully you next visit to Winnipeg will be more enjoyable.

Sincerely,



Keith McLandress
Guest Services Manager
Quality Inn & Suites, Winnipeg
204-453-8247

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend. We had made a reservation, but unfortunately it had not registered on the system. HOWEVER, the front end staff, Hillary I’m particular, was AMAZING. She apologized profusely (even though it wasn’t her fault) and said all they had was couples suites. Which was amusing as it was myself, my mother in law and my small 3 year old child. But they gave us a great discount, since it was considerably more than we had expected to pay, and they were so helpful and made us feel right at home. Definitely a 10/10. And a big shout out to Hillary for being such an awesome front desk associate with her warm smile and genuineness.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnWinnipeg, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Rachel G

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our location.

We are sorry to hear that you had some issue with the original reservation that you made, but we are pleased to hear that we were still able to accommodate you.

We are very glad to hear that Hillary was able to provide you with such amazing service. We are very lucky to have her working for us. She will be very pleased to hear that about the nice things that you said about her.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Winnipeg.

Sincerely,


Keith McLandress
Guest Services Manager
Quality Inn & Suites, Winnipeg
204-453-8247

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped in at random during a layover. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

The room was good and had a decent sized bed (King, I believe)

There are a lot of restos and drink options around, most within walking distance.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnWinnipeg, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Dave J,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and accommodating. They all work very hard to make you stay as pleasant as possible, and they will be glad to hear that you appreciated their efforts.

In addition to the restaurants in the area, we also have a bar and restaurant on site that you are welcome to try.

Hopefully we will see you again during your next visit to Winnipeg.

Sincerely,


Keith McLandress
Guest Services Manager
Quality Inn & Suites, Winnipeg
204-453-8247

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The beds have no actual quilts on them instead it is a fuzzy blanket which is very itchy. The water temperature in the shower is horrible. During shower water would go from the cold side to the scalding side and burn. Does not hold a steady temperature. There is a fridge in the room which is handy. The is also a small desk but no handy outlets to plug in electronics. The parking lot is sketchy and with the beer store out back and being close to downtown there were some sketchy people walking back there with open liquor. I found the bed to be quite firm. Overall it was ok for 1 night but I will not return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank cns1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnWinnipeg, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear cns1201

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly. They work very hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible, and we are very lucky to have them working for us.

We are sorry to hear that you found the blanket to be itchy. For your comfort all of our rooms also have a comforter in the closet. Thank you for letting us know about the issue you had with the shower temperature. We will have our maintenance staff look into the issue and get it corrected right away.

We are sorry that you found some of the beer store patrons sketchy. We take our guests safety very seriously and do our best to make sure that we do not have people loitering in the parking lot.

Hopefully your next stay in Winnipeg will be more to your liking.

Sincerely,


Keith McLandress
Guest Services Manager
Quality Inn & Suites, Winnipeg
204-453-8247

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Just south of "Confusion Corner". this hotel is functionally accessible to downtown Winnipeg. Even during rush hour, it is a perfect location to get to the big game!

The room was very clean and the check-in was very efficient! And the breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D'Arcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnWinnipeg, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear D’arcy B

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our location.

We are glad to hear that you found our location so convenient for getting to down town for the big game. Our location is also decently close to the Investors Group Field, so please don’t forget about us during the football season as well.

We are very blessed to have a great staff, who work very hard to make sure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay. They will be glad to hear that you found so much of your stay awesome.

Hopefully there will be many more big games left in this season, so that you have many reasons to come and visit us.

Sincerely,


Keith McLandress
Guest Services Manager
Quality Inn & Suites, Winnipeg
204-453-8247

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews