We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
10
9
3
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
9
3
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshumber riverthe main housetake picturesfire pitliving roomnicolasuppermattresses
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

This was an interesting stay that offered a whole new perspective of the hospitality industry. First of all, our accommodation was amazing. Our chalet was large, comfortable and well supplied with dishes and modern appliances. There were three large bedrooms which suited my party of three families perfectly and offered plenty of privacy if needed. Interestingly however, there were no privacy curtains on the river side of the chalet, including bedrooms which made it uncomfortable at night when lights were on and in the morning if someone wanted to sleep in. Living and dining areas as well as the kitchen were spacious. There was a beautiful deck, a BBQ, plenty of chairs and a partial view of the Humber River.

Unfortunately, there were also negatives with this property. We were only allowed one key between five adults which was a major inconvenience. Office hours were non-existent, so it was impossible to find help when needed. We had one instance when we needed staff to assist and had to actually look on the property's website to get a number to call. We were met with rudeness. Very unprofessional and potentially a very unsafe situation that should not be allowed by management.

We understand from other reviews of this property that there is a restaurant but not only is it not advertised, we were not told about it. There were no amenities unless you count several old bicycles left outdoors and a campfire pit with a few picnic tables amenities. We were told upon arrival that arrangements would be made for whatever we wanted to do, yet when we went to inquire about anything, the office was always locked with no contact information. Again, a potentially unsafe situation. Apart from groundskeepers, staff disappeared after arrival and we were totally on our own. Mind you, we were paying hundreds of dollars a night for our chalet and were promised service to go along with it.

According to the website, visiting dignitaries have stayed here and this has been true in the past. With this comment, a high degree of service and accommodation is implied. The only thing consistent with this comment is the very high price that we were charged. Professional staff engagement does not happen and amenities are none. There was not even free wifi. Such a shame for potentially a wonderful experience.

Thank goodness for family! We were able to still have a wonderful week, but only because we were familiar with the area using our own contacts and definitely not because of the staff at Strawberry Hill Resort.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We arrived at the resort on Sunday, July 16, 2017, and I was immediately taken back by the beauty of this property. Lush trees, beautifully manicured lawns, and colourful gardens lined the Humber River. When we arrived, we were greeted with smiles and hugs from the caretaker, Viola. She made us feel so welcome. She directed us to our Chalet, and ga e us time to settle in. The Chalet was so clean, and had everything we needed and more. There was a bedroom and private bath for each couple. These rooms were so quiet that those who wanted to turn in early were never disturbed. There were lots of fresh towels in the bathrooms and even an extra set of clean sheets in each room. The mattresses were very comfortable - even better than the one I had home. The two upstairs bedrooms ha e a stunning view of the Humber River. The common areas downstairs were perfect. The kitchen was roomy, and had all the necessities. The dining space could accommodate a large group of eight people. The living room was so comfortable with cushy leather sofa, chair, and two wonderful recliners (that many of us napped in). There was a fireplace and a tv (though we didn't even turn it on, as we preferred each other's company and enjoying the view around us. There's a very large wraparound deck that overlooks the Humber River, and has plenty of patio furniture and a BBQ. There's lots of parking outside the Chalet as well. Our last night there, we all had dinner at the main house, as we were celebrating our anniversary. We were seated by a wonderful young lady who led us into a beautiful dining area. This young lady assisted Viola in treating us like royalty. They made sure our wine and water glasses were topped up at all times. We were served delicious warm, homemade bread before supper. Chef Sheldon prepared a fabulous dinner which comprised of either a vibrant, fresh salad or bacon wrapped scallops for an appetizer, prime rib cooks to perfection, accompanied by creamy mashed potatoes, caramalized onjons, asparagus and carrots as our main. There were numerous dessert choices. The crepes, lemon meringue pie and coconut cream pie was mouthwatering. My husband is very picky with his desserts, so Viola served him with a very special chocolate sundae. After the meal, Viola volunteered to take pictures of our evening and also took us for a small tour of the majestic main house. She takes such pride in her work, and knows the history and every detail of this place. Viola is the heart and soul of this hidden little gem. She does everything - from making some of the desserts, to greeting and assisting guests, to yard work to make everything is up to par, to stoking the fire pit so the guests can enjoy an evening fire. Viola and Chef Sheldon are fabulous at what they do, and their pride in their work obviously shows. We will definitely return. We don't travel much, but we may have to make an exception to go back earlier.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanneMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I would not recommend staying at Strawberry Hill. There are almost no staff on the premises to help you. Viola, the owner, is rude, cheap, and inconsiderate. I've heard her talk nasty about staff behind their backs. Completely inappropriate infront of customers. Disgusting. The rooms are dirty, dusty and unkempt.

On top of all this, it is extremely overpriced, and besides the lovely scenery there is absolutely nothing to do. No games, no swimming, hot tubs non-functioning, nothing.

0/10, would sleep in my car in a snowstorm before returning.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MissDovahkiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed in the lovely old manor, our rooms were tastefully decorated for the old manor theme. The grounds are beautiful, so if you're a nature lover or fisher, you should enjoy the tranquility of this old inn. There are many great places and FABULOUS trails to visit within a 45 minute drive. We had a lovely supper (a little overpriced but it was delicious and staff fabulously accommodating). Some of the decor is a little worn and stained, like the towels, and the large wooden reception desk in the lobby seems out of character for this old Inn theme! But other than a few very minor issues I would highly recommend this Inn, staff are great!

Room Tip: Just sit back relax and enjoy.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brehank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Had a skidoo trip with 6 couples in February 2015, had a fantastic stay and hospitality was second to none!!!! Hot cooked breakfast everyday and home cooked meal upon return with meals of our choice as a group!
The service was fantastic and they took care of us in all aspects, at night when it was time for the staff to go home, they even provided a pan of ice for us to sit in the fireplace room and have a few cocktails!
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews