We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
264
203
107
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
203
107
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great place for kids family suite adjoining rooms bagels jacuzzi suite hot tub hard boiled eggs pool airport super8 st pets downtown internet johns microwave nl
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a birthday party sleep over and the kids loved the room right next to the pool, with bunk beds. It was very laid back and comfortable and you could allow the kids to be kids and have fun. It was pet friendly and the staff went out of their way to play with the puppy. It was really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joannmurphy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Comfortable king sized bed. Great Jacuzzi. Clean breakfast area. Lots of parking, pleasant staff, great pool to relax in. As in all hotels, lighting is not great...walls are dark but the bed and jacuzzi make up for that. Protein in the breakfast can only be found in a pot of hard boiled eggs and some peanut butter but it is clean with lots of coffee, tea and carbs.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yogggiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Comfortable for one evening, however, our room 101 was on the main floor near the breakfast bar. We arrived at 2:00 am and apparently assigned one of the last rooms - not the double queen that I had booked as they had all already been assigned.

All night and starting at 6:00 am, all we heard was the door leading to the foyer opening and closing, and guests greeting one another in the hallway, and excited children running up and down the hallway.

Avoid this room!! Also, poor value for the rate – somewhat pricy.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatharineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortinn1234, Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham St Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We will bring your comments up at our next service training session.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

I gave 3 stars because the staff were very kind, friendly and helpful, but this was our least favourite stay in St. John’s so far. We stay once or twice a year, this was our first and last time at the Super 8.
First of all, the photo of the pool which is advertised on the Super 8 by Wyndham official hotel page, is not as pictured. There is two fixtures that spout water in the photos and these are not present in the pool area, so my kids were a little disappointed to start with. The pool area was closed and under maintenance for a day as well, which was further disappointing to the kids as the pool was the main reason we chose this hotel.
The parking lot is incredibly small, many people parked blocking the entrance and exits because of this. Also a tractor trailer took up much of the parking lot, when parking was already an issue for people to find adequate parking. We received a call in the morning to move our vehicle as it was preventing the tractor trailer from leaving.
The breakfast area was much too small and offered only cereal, toast, oranges and yogurt. We have had great breakfast buffets at the Fairfield, Holiday Inn and others, this was disappointing compared to those hotels mentioned above. For over $500 we were expecting much more from our stay, but we will opt out of staying here in the future, as the same price is offered at hotels that offer much more, and a more comfortable stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank kristapower6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

This was our last stay in Newfoundland during our 50th Anniversary tour of the Maritimes. I had begun to despair that we would find a hotel that cares more about its guest's than the money. Was this hotel perfect - no - but very close. We chose a king room that was spacious with all the amenities. There was a frig, microwave, bathmat for the tub, ironing board, iron, hairdryer and internet that worked. Breakfast was substantial only missing the meat, bacon, sausage, patty, that everyone wants. Two thumbs up for this Super 8. Keep up the good work. A definite contender for travellers looking for quality accommodations at a reasonable price.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortinn1234, Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham St Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for your positive comments. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews