We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
319
105
11
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
105
11
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock and roll music theme dental floss turn down service classic rock boutique hotel rolling stones themed hotel rain shower great music george street great hotel water street valet service large shower restaurant bar hotel in st
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at the JAG a few times. The rooms are beautifully designed, functional and clean. The restaurant downstairs has delicious food. The breakfasts are yummy including a lemony hollandaise on the eggs benny. The bartenders are always friendly during an evening dinner alone at the bar.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank pattim37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at JAG, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for sharing your JAG experience with us. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Jag hotel, as we have in the past. Clean, convenient and comfortable stay as always. Only downside to our stay was the Valet parking. We paid ($17) for the Valet parking and asked upon checkin if the Valets were able to drive a standard transmission vehicle. We were told that all Valets could do so. We waited about 10 minutes for vehicle after checking out. When it finally arrives out front you could smell the odor of a burnt clutch as soon as you walked outside. The Valet the tried to tell us that they had a problem getting the vehicle out of the garage because the clutch was slipping. It is a brand new vehicle with a brand new clutch... there is no issue with the clutch. Obviously whichever valet tried to drive the vehicle was not comfortable with driving a standard. Won't be spending the extra money for Valet again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Inspire51770508866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at JAG, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Jag and we always appreciate the feedback from guests. We looked into the situation in question and it had been brought to our attention that two of our staff had trouble getting the car to stay in gear without stalling out. When the vehicle was delivered this was discussed and the driver took it around the block to make sure all was ok and then gave a wave as he left the premises. Our drivers were under the impression things were alright with the vehicle and we’re sorry if you were not comfortable with the situation as it was. Hopefully when you’re back the management will be able to discuss this with you more fully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Don’t believe the other reviews.. this is the number one destination hotel in St. John’s. Boutique style. Music themed with fabulous rooms.. I would never even consider another hotel when on the rock.. luv the rooms.. best location.. super great staff.. say hi to Jenn at the bar. Best tarbender ever.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank SALESGUY46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at JAG, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you so much for such an awesome review. We really appreciate you sharing it and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

From the moment you step into the hotel you know you made a great choice. The friendly welcoming plus the great music playing was a sign! Right from check in to checkout and all in between you saw the staff were really enjoying their jobs. Maybe it was the great music playing in the background? The rooms were well laid out, comfortable and had the amenities you need. Anything you need was looked after immediately. The bar and restaurant were both hopping and deservedly so. We also enjoyed our breakfast and one dinner in the Exile. Car valet service was excellent too. Had a grand stay!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Smoltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at JAG, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you so much for such an awesome review! We really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

So many things that I found disappointing:
They upgraded me to a suite which turned out to be an open door to two adjoining rooms. So incredibly dated (even though I don't think the hotel is more than 4 years old). Shower stall wasn't in good shape and the carpet in the room was worn.
Lunch in Exile was delicious - cod fish with potatoes and some veggies. Loved it.
Restaurant carpet needs replacing!
Need to have a meeting in the restaurant? Don't bother as the music is too loud and distracting. Wasn't wowed at all by what some call a Boutique Hotel. I will be going back to Blue on Water which is super fantastic all the way around! Missed it the entire time I was at the JAG.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alwayssunnyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at JAG, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry that you were not pleased with our one bedroom suite and its décor. We normally receive a positive response from our guests when they stay in this type of room, as they greatly appreciate the extra living space, along with the ability to have the potential separation from the bedroom area. Also, you are correct, our property is only 4 years old and so all of our décor is modern with neutral tones.

We are delighted to hear that your meal was enjoyable in our Exile Dining Room & Lounge. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the music volume. Our music is at a volume that is intended to not be in the background. We are a musically inspired hotel and so it is our intent for our guests to hear and celebrate the hand-picked music that has been selected just for them. Also, we just replaced our carpet in our dining room as well, so when you come back to visit with us you may enjoy Exile’s fresh new look!

We are sorry that your JAG experience wasn’t what you were expecting. We greatly appreciate and value your review, as it allows us to develop and grow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews