We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Monday Night Specials”

Bernard Stanley Gastropub
Ranked #33 of 388 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Came here for the Monday night mussels and wings special and were not disappointed. For $9 each, you can either get a pound of chicken wings or a fairly large portion of mussels (with two tiny pieces of garlic toast). Both come with a choice of sauces/broths and both dishes were excellent. Along with a couple of pints of the local IPA (at $5 each), makes for a reasonable dinner (for St John's) for under $40, taxes and tip included.

Service was very friendly and efficient and the place seems very popular and was filled on an early Monday night.

About the only small downer was the bread (or lack thereof). As any mussels "foodie" knows, the best part of the meal is the sopping up of the leftover broth with good bread (or any bread for that matter). The broth here is terrific. Since the two tiny pieces served with the mussels were clearly not enough, we asked for extra PLAIN bread once the mussels were finished - took forever, in fact our server apologized - 15 minutes later, 2 more tiny pieces of garlic toast arrived. To add insult to injury, an extra $3 charge for garlic toast.

Not a big thing - but little things leave big impressions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberLynn D, Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

We are so glad to have had you stop by Monday night! You are right, Monday's are definitely a popular day for us around here because, who doesn't love a $9 bowl of mussels or super tasty wings? And then adding in our $5 happy hour pints doesn't hurt either! So sorry about not having enough bread to soak up all that delicious broth and it taking far longer than we like to have had some more. We will make sure we work on making sure you've got enough of everything to soak up every last drop! Hopefully we will see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

My nieces are regulars here and I'm sure happy they took me to this fantastic gastropub! All our meals were amazing; one stuffed salmon, one halibut with strawberry salsa, and two orders of pan fried cod served on an amazing chunk of mushroom bread pudding. Parmesan garlic kettle chips to start were delicious too. Everyone's meals were cooked to perfection, arrived in a timely manner, and were steaming hot. Nice cocktail menu, thoroughly enjoyed my Radler Bite. Wish we'd had room for dessert, but I'll be back!

Thank Luvstobake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberLynn D, Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for coming down for a bite to eat and thanks to your nieces for convincing you to give us a try! We hope that you'll be back for dessert sometime, too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Here for brunch on a Sunday morning. I love love love the authenticity of the pub space - and the large chalk drawing of Gord Donnie doesn't hurt!

The food and coffee was fantastic! I had the breakfast pouting and it melted my face with happiness. Not overly heavy but decadent nonetheless.

Experience this.

Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberLynn D, Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks for joining us for brunch on your Sunday morning! We do try to keep the place uncomplicated with just the right touches, so glad that you enjoyed! And that Gord Downie is really something, isn't it. We are lucky to know so many wonderful incredible talented people! We hope that we'll get to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This is a cosy pub with a good selection of cocktails and local beers. The staff provides excellent service and are very pleasant. Had the spicy crab soup, which was incredible. Came with thin strips of buttered bread that accompanied it perfectly. The fish special was halibut served blackened with a very good salsa topping over an excellent goat and onion risotto. The only issue was the fillet was poorly prepared and quite raw in the center and second half of the portion. In all fairness, I enjoyed the first portion and did not give the chef a chance to correct the second half of the very large fillet.

Thank medsalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberLynn D, Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for joining us for a bite to eat and we are glad that you enjoyed it! We do wish though, that you would have told us about the halibut and have had a chance to fix it for you! But hopefully that doesn't stop you from giving us another go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We were a group of 4. Our waiter was attentive and efficient. Three of us had fish and the meals were amazing, visually and taste. The burger one of us had was dry and pretty unappetizing.

Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberLynn D, Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for joining us for a bite to eat and we are very glad that you enjoyed your seafood! We love being able to serve up delicious and local seafood fresh out of our waters. So sorry that you didn't enjoy your burger and I really hope you'll give us and our burgers another try! We serve up so many tasty burgers and your next one will better reflect what we serve up day in and out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bernard Stanley Gastropub also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Bernard Stanley Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing