We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking place, simply wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Northern view of beach from rocks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern view of beach from rocks
View from the hill Eastern view from the kayak
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Northern view of beach from rocks
View from the hill
Eastern view from the kayak
Crystal clear water behind cottage
Eastern view of beach from door
Dawn from the hill
Full rainbow across the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Boutiliers Point, Halifax Region, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GlobeTrot...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking place, simply wonderful”
Reviewed 25 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Egon's cottage is much more than we expected. It is simply amazing, beautiful, very clean and so nicely decorated up to the little fine details. Ir is right on the water and when you step inside it is like entering into a magic place. We had an amazing vacation because we stayed at this cottage. We had everything we needed and the kids loved the little beach outside the house. The location is perfect because it is not too far from Halifax on one side and Lunenburg to the other. Egon let us use his kayaks, he gave us safe jackets, he really went above and beyond to make our vacation memorable. He even came to pick us up at the train station in Halifax because we arrived extremely late at night and even bought us grocery for the next day. I highly recommend this place. It is something very special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2018
Thank you very much. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieSR5
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family time!”
Reviewed 23 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Waking up to that view each morning was incredible! Re: the cottage - our kids loved the beach, we fished from the rocks everyday, and the space was perfect for quaint family time and had everything we needed. We played board games and cards, did puzzles, and watched movies in the evenings which was a nice break from electronics. Re: the location - we did so much! Went into Halifax for a brewery and museum, hiked the cliffs at Cape Split, visited PEI for a day (3 hr drive each way but totally doable), visited 3 incredible beaches within about an hour, went Tidal Bore Rafting, and visited Lunenburg. Egon was awesome!! Right there to answer any question and give suggestions, we led us to great restaurants and activity options. He’s very attentive and it’s obvious he wanted to ensure we had a great time. He really went above and beyond; knowing that we were going to drive to PEI, he went out and bought us travel mugs so we could bring coffee in the car! He and his family are lovely and he was an exceptional host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2018
Thank you very much. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaminig30
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage, awesome views”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I went to Nova Scotia with two boys ages 8 and 9 in the middle of Aug. This was one of the best vacations that we have had recently.
Egon is full of fun and very easy to deal with. His takes pride in his cottage and it reflects in every corner of a very clean and extremely organized modern cottage.
Great collection of books, songs, movies, video games, sand bag with boxing gloves, push up bar, climbing bars, 3 kayaks, One kayak had glass bottom, 4 life jackets, bow & arrow, fully equipped fishing rod, everything you need in the kitchen and list can go on. Cottage is so private right on the private beach. Beautiful bike path across the street which goes all the way to Halifax.
Peggy's code is15 minutes drive, Lunenburg (UNESCO heritage) is 45 min drive, Mahone bay is 30 min drive, Halifax is 20 min drive. You could easily drive to Northern beaches (warmest water beaches) in less than 2 hours but we loved the water temperatures at the cottage. We are used to cool water near Boston and water at the beach at cottage was warmer(around 65-66 degrees). Every day kids kayaked to small islands, played in the sand, swam all day, fished.
I wanted to travel around but kids and my husband were just so happy at the cottage that we ended up spending most of the time in the cottage.
Cottage is so private yet close to everything. Nice peaceful neighborhood.
Egon always responded to our queries within seconds of asking.
If we lived any closer we would be here every year.
WE really get to relax and enjoy as family.

Thanks you Egon for sharing your peace of heaven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist70...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful ocean space”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

After our long day of driving, Egon was there waiting for us, and get us set up. This was a perfect spot for either hanging out (which we did for a couple of days) and doing day trips: 30 minutes to downtown Halifax, 35 to Peggy’s Cove, 40 to Lunenburg, 10 minutes to grocery stores. (We also drove to Tiverton for whale watching.) It was quiet, off the main road so we couldn’t hear any cars, and right at the water’s edge. The kids enjoyed playing on the beach and kayaking. Inside was comfortable, lots of things to do, and worked perfectly for our stay – we loved how it was cozy, yet with enough space to spread out in. Looking out in the morning was a lovely way to wake up. (A heron was fishing on the beach one morning.) Egon was an excellent host. We had questions a couple of times, and Egon answered right away, as well as showing us the ropes for fishing! Great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy D
1 review
“Look no further....”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Seriously...this is it! This place was so amazing! You couldn't get any closer to the water. When the tide is up it felt like we were in a floating home. It is so quiet and peaceful. Just sailboats and tug boats going by. No loud jet skis or speed boats. The cottage is in a perfect spot. Only 25 min to Halifax, 30 min to Peggy's Cove and 45 min to Lunenburg. Great for day trips. We ended up going to Halifax twice. The private beach was great for our two boys ages 13 and 11. They snorkel everyday catching crabs and starfish. 3 Kayaks were available to use anytime we wanted. Such a beautiful bay to paddle around. The cottage itself is a studio style. There are curtains and half wall partitions that separate the sleeping areas. Sure...walls would have been nice but honestly if there were walls you would lose all the amazing views this property offers. Egon was a pleasure to deal with. He takes a lot of pride in his property and it shows! He was available via text or phone anytime we had questions. Even if it was how to work the TV! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If we were closer it would be an annual trip!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing