We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I just spent four nights at this hotel. The Explorer was a great hotel for us. The staff was friendly, the food in the restaurants is absolutely delicious ( be sure and get the Northern Salad), the room was large, the beds very comfy....overall we were very satisfied!! We had room service breakfast three of the mornings---yummy !!
We were there when the outside temperature was -38; however, it was very comfortably warm in our room !! We have only good things to say about The Explorer!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank PenLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Very good location, short walk to downtown area and the visitors centre. Clean rooms friendly staff. This hotel has a bar/restaurant with good food. Fairly large hotels in the area, suggest booking early for any properties in the area regardless of season.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Wasantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Hotel is pleasant, comfy bed! Great view from 8th floor. Breakfast buffet is quite pricey, unless you like a big breakfast. The lounge is cosy, good service and good selection of food. The only downside was the disrupted sleep from the noise of the fridge. Also room was quite cool due to constant HVAC, could not turn it off - felt like there was a constant breeze!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We look forward to seeing you again Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Helpful and available staff. Rooms are nice size and well furnished with useful surfaces and good array of electrical outlets for charging multiple devices. Location is up on a small hill, so views are nice. Close to city center so walking there from the hotel is 5-10 minutes away.
It's nice to have Traders Grill restaurant downstairs if you don't want to go out for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLMS_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Found this hotel very accommodating. Transportation was as advertised. Staff very helpful and always with a smile. We encountered 2 minor incidents that were addressed immediately and respectfully. Definitely would stay here again.
Restaurant had excellent service and food was great.
Sunday brunch was special.
Three nights aurora searching unfortunately resulted zero sightings!!!!
Perhaps next time

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank daleslair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.1 km away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
65 reviews
1 km away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
296 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
2.1 km away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
30 reviews
2.2 km away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Address: 4825 49 Avenue, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range: $223 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing together all the best of Canada’s diamond capital and world’s best Aurora viewing destination The Explorer Hotel in Yellowknife is your natural starting point for your business or leisure travel adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing