We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$136
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aurora Deluxe(Yellowknife)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
The Discovery Inn(Yellowknife)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Buffalo Nights Bed and Breakfast(Yellowknife)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Bayside Bed & Breakfast(Yellowknife)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora Yellowknife Jenny's(Yellowknife)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
141
238
94
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
238
94
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin townprince of walescomfortable hotelnorthern heritage centreshoppers drug martfront desk staffbusiness tripmidnight sunvisitor centerpolar bearexcellent hotelplace to stayarctic charfree airport shuttlewould definitely stay here againframe lakerooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I just spent four nights at this hotel. The Explorer was a great hotel for us. The staff was friendly, the food in the restaurants is absolutely delicious ( be sure and get the Northern Salad), the room was large, the beds very comfy....overall we were very satisfied!! We had room service breakfast three of the mornings---yummy !!
We were there when the outside temperature was -38; however, it was very comfortably warm in our room !! We have only good things to say about The Explorer!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank PenLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Very good location, short walk to downtown area and the visitors centre. Clean rooms friendly staff. This hotel has a bar/restaurant with good food. Fairly large hotels in the area, suggest booking early for any properties in the area regardless of season.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Wasantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Hotel is pleasant, comfy bed! Great view from 8th floor. Breakfast buffet is quite pricey, unless you like a big breakfast. The lounge is cosy, good service and good selection of food. The only downside was the disrupted sleep from the noise of the fridge. Also room was quite cool due to constant HVAC, could not turn it off - felt like there was a constant breeze!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We look forward to seeing you again Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Helpful and available staff. Rooms are nice size and well furnished with useful surfaces and good array of electrical outlets for charging multiple devices. Location is up on a small hill, so views are nice. Close to city center so walking there from the hotel is 5-10 minutes away.
It's nice to have Traders Grill restaurant downstairs if you don't want to go out for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLMS_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Found this hotel very accommodating. Transportation was as advertised. Staff very helpful and always with a smile. We encountered 2 minor incidents that were addressed immediately and respectfully. Definitely would stay here again.
Restaurant had excellent service and food was great.
Sunday brunch was special.
Three nights aurora searching unfortunately resulted zero sightings!!!!
Perhaps next time

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank daleslair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl Heinz S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews