We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Digs in a Great Location”
Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Reviewed 28 June 2017

I've stayed at several hotels in Yellowknife over the years but for the past couple of trips have bunked in at the Explorer Hotel - a comfortable hotel on the edge of downtown. The bar and cafe are both cozy with good food and a good selection of beverages. On another note the hotel is fishermen friendly and will store your catch (frozen) for your trip home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the hotel for a panoramic view of Yellowknife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OutdoorsmanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Perhaps we should have left right after looking at the menu as only one dish wasn't seafood. My husband and I ordered the only steak on the menu, we ordered medium rare it came medium well. Nothing fancy, no seasoning, no sauce very plain. For $41 a plate I expected lots more. The only good thing about the meal was our waitress, Keira. Sorry Explorer you really disappointed us. We left and went to the Quarry for dessert.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank knolting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I have travelled to Yellowknife for work on numerous occasions and always end up staying at the Explorer. There is a free shuttle from the airport, and the staff can tell when you when it's scheduled to pick up. If you need to leave before the restaurant opens in the morning, there is coffee and pastries set out in the lobby. Ice water and the polar bear are available in the lobby any time.

The rooms are huge and all the rooms I have stayed in had a microwave, mini fridge and glasses. They leave chocolates on your pillow.

Although I have visited for work, I would not hesitate to stay here on a personal vacation or with family.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

This is the nicest hotel in Yellowknife and I am so glad that we picked it because the bed was very comfortable as was the room temperature, and there was room to store our winter gear. The buffet breakfast was delicious .. a fan of the desserts/cakes, for sure. Staff were friendly; though a little uptight about the timing around the brunch. Alpine pub was a nice place to unwind, too.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TracyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again . Warm regards
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel has everything you could need. It's quiet, had on site restaurant and pub that have a good selection of drinks as well as great food. Rooms are older but clean and comfortable with everything I need.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank campingmommaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.1 km away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
62 reviews
1.0 km away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
296 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
2.1 km away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
29 reviews
2.2 km away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Address: 4825 49th Avenue | Box 7000, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range: $222 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing