We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blachford Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 April 2017

My wife & I have seen the northern lights in Alaska, Churchill, MA,Canada, but Blachford Lake Lodge was the best by far. From our room in the lodge we laid on the bed & watched the light show, just unbelievable. The trip to yellowknife was fun, but how many folks can say that they flew to a remote lodge on a plane with ski's and part of the cargo was a new fridge for the lodge. Great trip, great fun, fantastic food, great photos and good snowmobiling........we're ready to do it again......Dave W

Room Tip: For total isolation, stay in one of their cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davwitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dave - thank you so much for your kind words! We really enjoyed hosting you and M, and getting to know you both. We're happy to report that the new fridge is settling in perfectly :) We hope to see you again in the future, and again, thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017

We glad to book Blackford Lake Lodge to make our Aurora view vacation perfect. We stayed 2 nights @ Room Sunrise 2 (Lake View) and absolutely like the room. Room isn't spacious but okay size for 2 persons (Besides you don't stay your room long). Lodge has 12+ volunteer workers from the globe, they are very nice & kind to organize activities (ski, hiking, snow mobile, snow board shoes, ice fishing.....) and they joined you for free guide. It's not 5 STAR luxury hotel in big cities, but it's 5 STARs vacation lodge for us.

To view aurora at the night, it's also easier compared other nights in Yellowknife. Blackford is 15-20 minutes fly from Yellowknife and weather seems more clear & stable which helps to see Aurora. We are luckier to see Aurora both nights. They also offer make-up call while Aurora is on the sky, and Blackford Lake is the good spot to see Aurora (which is 5 minutes walk from Lodge).

Blackford Lake Lodge is eco-friendly lodge, it's not easy for remote location but they did it.

Vacation Cost is high but money is worth for all of experience. We're planning to visit this place again......

Room Tip: Sunrise I & Sunrise II are lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamtracker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for this lovely review - we are so glad to hear you're planning on coming back! We really appreciate the honestly behind your review, and glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

A winter trip to NWT to see the Aurora was something we have been wanting to do and going to Blachford seemed to be the "ultimate" destination. And indeed we did see a good Aurora show there (also a good one in YK before arriving) but our memories and experiences go well beyond that. The cozy and comfortable lodge and the outstanding meals have been well described by others. I would like to comment on how much fun it was to meet the staff, volunteers and other guests. What an engaged and positive group, everyone there was happy and fun to talk with, the other guests all had great travel stories and a list of where they wanted to go next. You can proceed at your own pace, do as much or as little as you wanted, but if you needed any help or personal attention then one of the volunteers was there for you. We spent most of our outside time walking or snowshoeing (thanks Martina and Maude) but there was so much more to do, we had two nights and would have liked a third.

Ski plane trip in was great fun, smooth and comfortable flight. As some have mentioned the heat in the lodge is kept a little on high side so for winter visitors bring some cooler casual clothes for inside time. Also as mentioned in another review the walk up from the lake or cabins could be challenging for someone with mobility issues but the staff is always there to help or provide a snowmobile ride down to the lake or airplane. No request was too much for them. As Canadians we like to think of our North as a special place but so few of us actually go there. Please go up and see what is happening in the Territories.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 492traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hello from Blachford! Thank you so much for this note, we love when our guests have the opportunity to enjoy everything that the north has to offer :)
We're absolutely going to make a note about the inside of the lodge's temperature control, as you're right, it has popped up in a few comments.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed the flight, and the food - and we all 100% agree that more Canadians should come and visit!
Safe travels, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed at Blachford Lake Lodge for 5 nights and loved everything there, from the location to the activities, the staff, the volunteers, the food...and the auroras. This was a once-in-a-lifetime trip and experience.
The location is amazing, in the middle of nowhere. We did some wonderful excursions: the first days, we explored the trails by snow shoes or cross country skiing, and once we were done with these, they very kindly created a new 12kms cross country skiing trails and allocated a volunteer to us, who helped us discover unmarked trails. What is worth noting is that every evening, we discussed with the staff what our options were for the next day, and were offered to be guided by a volunteer if we wanted to. We did some ice fishing too, and learned how to make an igloo and hand balm.
This brings me to my next point. The lodge is run by approx. 5 staff members, very professional, kind and helpful (thank you so much Maude, Ben and Florence) and approx. 12 volunteers. It was so enriching to share their experience and what brought them at BLL! They were all very helpful and nice, to mention but a few Valentin, Mikkel, Clément.
The food was very good and diverse, all made with fresh products. The cook did really a great job!
We did a snowmobile tour to the Great Slave Lake, which was exceptional.
The shared toilets and showers are very clean and although there are only 2 of each per gender, it ran surprisingly smoothly. We stayed in the cabin and loved it because there was absolutely no noise.
Last but not least, the auroras... We waited until our last day to see them but it was worth the wait: the show was absolutely amazing and this unspoilt location made them magical.
We are so happy we came at BLL instead of staying in Yellowknife!!! The experience would have been very different.
A special thank to all the staff members and volunteers who made this trip so exceptional.

Room Tip: The cabins if you want absolute quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Glema92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you so much for leaving this lovely review. It's so special that we get to bring wonderful guests like yourself to our part of the world, and you get to connect with our special team. Thank you again for all of your kind words, we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Go here. I enjoyed three lovely nights at Blachford. We saw Aurora every night!!
There are so many good things to say that I will bullet point them out -
* I am gluten and dairy free and Carmen in the kitchen did a fantastic job keeping me well fed - much appreciated
* I have mobility issues with bad hips but not once did I feel that I couldn't do anything everybody else could do - there was always someone to walk me to and from my cabin or help out and always a positive attitude. Using ski poles to help walk is huge.
*Most of the staff here are international volunteers and they are amazing kids- and there is practically one staff member for each guest - smart, nice, helpful, interesting, lovely. They will go out of their way to make sure your time at Blachford is special. Big props to Martina who worked so hard to make our tipi party a special time!
* The Aurora photo tutorial is invaluable (thank you Una) - and FYI if you only have an Iphone there are apps you can download that will take Aurora photos (I downloaded the Northern Lights Photo Taker) - and any photo will be better if you have some kind of tripod. But those with more professional cameras will definitely get better pics.
* Even though I am not sporty AT ALL, I felt so safe here that I tried both cross country skiing (many thanks to Ben) and snowshoeing and enjoyed both so much. The encouragement that I would be able to go at my own pace and feel safe was so much appreciated
* I would probably encourage anyone who has trouble walking or is afraid of falling, to stay in the lodge rather than a cabin, mostly because the cabins have no bathroom and the outhouse is a walk, and it can be minus 40 degrees at night. That said, sitting outside my cabin alone watching the Aurora is something I will remember my whole life, so it was well worth it

I would highly recommend Blachford to anyone!! It is definitely the next level NWT/Aurora experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Deborah - thank you so much for leaving these wonderful comments. We really enjoyed having you with us! We're loving keeping up with your photos you've posted online (thanks for tagging us!), and all of the staff at the lodge send their hellos. We hope to see you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.8 km away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
440 reviews
2.3 km away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
296 reviews
1.8 km away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
30 reviews
1.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
183 reviews
0.1 km away
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Yellowknife
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blachford Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blachford Lake Lodge

Address: Box 1568, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Yellowknife
Price Range: $1,132 - $2,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blachford Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blachford Lake Lodge, a family run business for over 30 years, is the only fly-in wilderness resort situated on Blachford Lake (60 miles south-east of Yellowknife). The 25-minute bush plane flight from Yellowknife is often considered as one of the highlights of a trip to Blachford. We pride ourselves on complimenting your northern experience with great food, a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and dedicated customer service. Our winter season (January to April) offers great opportunities to watch the aurora (northern lights), to go snowmobiling, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, hiking, ice-fishing or simply to relax in the hot tub.Our summer season (June to October) offers great fishing. Canoe or kayak under the midnight sun (June/July) or hike one of the many nature trails. By late summer (mid August) the aurora becomes more visible again and one can watch the northern lights being reflected in the water. Anytime, feel royally when you follow the paths that William and Kate walked during their Royal visit at Blachford Lake Lodge in July 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blachford Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blachford Lake Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing