We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem”

Review of Red Head Retreat

Red Head Retreat in Atlantic, Nova Scotia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Head Retreat in Atlantic, Nova Scotia
Red Head Retreat in Atlantic, Nova Scotia View from the deck at Red Head Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Red Head Retreat in Atlantic, Nova Scotia
Red Head Retreat in Atlantic, Nova Scotia
View from the deck at Red Head Retreat
The kitchen at Red Head Retreat with beautiful ocean views
Open concept dining room and kitchen at Red Head Retreat
The living room at Red Head Retreat
The living room at Red Head Retreat
Enjoy sitting by this beautiful fireplace at Red Head Retreat
Sit in the living room and enjoy the beautiful ocean views
The upstairs hallway
The master bedroom features a king size bed and ocean views
The TV room is directly off the master bedroom
The TV room is directly off the master bedroom
The TV room is directly off the master bedroom
A second bedroom features a twin size bed and ocean views
A second bedroom features a twin size bed and ocean views
A second bedroom features a twin size bed and ocean views
A third bedroom features a twin size bed and ocean views
A third bedroom features a twin size bed and ocean views
The beautiful bathroom at Red Head Retreat
The shoreline at Red Head Retreat
The shoreline at Red Head Retreat
Roseway Beach is approximately a 10 minute drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
harbourqu...
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location is remote enough to make you feel as though you "got away" and close enough to historic attractions and pristine beaches to guarantee a terrific stay rain or shine. I chose this cottage for my ability to bring my pets and for its proximity to the shore line. I would come back in a heart beat. The open concept and decor are modern and homey. The beds and furniture are comfortable. There are snowshoe hares, deer and even porcupines to keep you entertained.

I was warned about ticks which are many this year. I simply made sure my cats had the proper treatments and kept an eye on their fur. We had no mishaps. Minor thoughts of improvement would be a fan in the master bedroom, additional outdoor chairs and a supply of fresh chopped wood. Everything else was wonderful.

Thank you to Sandy Lane for your attention to detail and to the owner for sharing their cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda R
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I and some friends stayed at Red Head Retreat for a week in July 2016 and we fell in love with this place the moment we walked in the door. It is exactly as you see it in the pictures. The views are spectacular and the beaches nearby are incredible. Peaceful, secluded, quiet and surrounded by nature! We will definitely be booking again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Melinda,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your time at Red Head Retreat. We would love to see you again!
All the best,
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmoggs
Halifax Region, Canada
1 review
“Perfect getaway location for relaxation”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful week at Red Head Retreat. it was completely peaceful with only the sounds of gulls, waves on stone at the foot of the bluff and intermittent bird song. The house is spacious, comfortably furnished and open and airy with lots of natural light. The back deck is perfect for enjoying a quiet coffee in the mornings with dawn over the trees and In August it gets full shade in the afternoon, which makes it perfect for lolling in the Adirondack chairs with books and a cold drink. And there always seemed to be a refreshing breeze off the ocean. This was most welcome because we were there during a hot, humid week. But even the foggy mornings seemed special in that house. Alerted by the management company and a previous guest's post, we limited our time on the large back lawn and on woodland trails in the region due to ticks. We took extra medication precautions for our dog and checked her and each other after each excursion. Happy to report that we didn't see a tick all week! But we did see lots of deer. The back lawn area seemed to be an early morning and evening gathering place. At dusk on one day we counted 12 does and fawns of assorted sizes (see photo). We also saw plenty of rabbits, and pheasants, plus a beaver or muskrat by the causeway on the approach road. We are familiar with Nova Scotia's south shore and like to choose a base from which to explore by car and at times by bike or foot. Red Head Retreat is our favourite rental so far. There is no direct beach access from the house but many beautiful beaches - usually very sparsely peopled - within a short driving distance. We also treated ourselves to a final night dinner out at the Charlotte Lane in Shelburne. it was our fourth visit to the restaurant over the past decade and it never disappoints. But a note to other guests who might be inclined to give it a try - do make a reservation. We saw several tourists walk in and be disappointed the evening we were there. Altogether, a lovely week. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spaciousness and natural light
Liked least: bathroom downstairs and bedroom upstairs - a little awkward for people who have to get up in the night!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer...
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solitude and Nature”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Red Head Retreat has been the best house our family has rented yet. It is a quaint cape cod that was perfect for our family of four. We loved the most the open layout on the main floor with only the center staircase being any obstruction. The back wall is filled with windows giving a 180 degree view east and north of the ocean - incredible morning sunshine to sit, read and enjoy a cup of coffee (amazing sunrises!). The had a large deck with two rocking chairs and a grill - a table would be beneficial but we ate our breakfasts in the morning sun on the floor of the deck. We would have spent more time in the yard if it weren't for the ticks which happened to be bad this summer (we needed to get a flea and tick collar for our dog beyond her monthly treatments which did the trick). Even though there are a few house next door to Red Head, we didn't see a sole the entire week.

We enjoyed the adventurous walks hopping along the boulders on the shore (no beach but a great one less than 10 minutes away, Roswell). Again, we had the vast shoreline to ourselves to explore. Red Head was truly a treat away from the hustle and bustle of our busy DC lives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful gem on the South Shore”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Red Head Retreat with my husband and 2 friends. This was our first trip to the South Shore since moving to NS 2 years ago. The property is absolutely stunning with a huge yard ending at the ocean's edge. It is very private and quiet. The cottage is beautiful and has a spacious open concept on the lower floor. Bedrooms are nice and the cottage is equipped with everything you need. The large deck in the back is a great feature as is the fire pit. The cottage is close to some awesome beaches and Shelburne is an easy drive. We were very impressed with this cottage and had such a great time! We highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and yard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself at Red Head Retreat.
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing