We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house”

Review of Shorewood House

Shorewood House located in  Shelburne, Nova Scotia. Sleeps 6.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shorewood House located in  Shelburne, Nova Scotia. Sleeps 6.
Shorewood House located in  Shelburne, Nova Scotia. Sleeps 6. Sit and relax in the back garden at Shorewood House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Shorewood House located in  Shelburne, Nova Scotia. Sleeps 6.
Shorewood House located in  Shelburne, Nova Scotia. Sleeps 6.
Sit and relax in the back garden at Shorewood House
Downstairs hallway
Downstairs hallway
The living room at Shorewood House
The living room at Shorewood House
The living room at Shorewood House equipped with Apple TV
Fully equipped eat in kitchen at Shorewood House
Dining area of kitchen
Fully equipped eat in kitchen at Shorewood House
Fully equipped eat in kitchen at Shorewood House
Fully equipped eat in kitchen at Shorewood House
Formal dining room at Shorewood House
Formal dining room at Shorewood House
Two piece powder room located on the ground floor
Upstairs hallway
The master bedroom featuring a queen size bed
The master bedroom featuring a queen size bed
Second bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with double bed
Third bedroom with double bed
Third bedroom with double bed
Fourth bedroom with a single bed
Fourth bedroom with a single bed
Upstairs bathroom
Upstairs bathroom
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AJ072015
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for 4 nights and had an amazing time. This house is absolutely beautiful and the views are wonderful. We had everything we needed, with comfy beds and great facilities. We'd love to come back one day. Thanks to Helen at Sandy Lane Vacation Rentals for all the tips for local beaches, shopping, restaurants and nightlife!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorisanna...
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Matrimonial Manor for By the Sea Wedding”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

As the Mother of the Bride, I stayed several nights of the 4 day reservation for the Bridal Party. This heritage home is meters from the finest harbour in Nova Scotia and 3rd largest natural harbour in the world after Sydney, Australia and Havana, Cuba. It is equipped with everything a family and their friends could need including children's toys. This stately two floored building also has a nice verandah out front and an upper deck and lower patio in the well-kept garden behind the house. The architecture is lovely and inside has all modern amenities and extras (bedding, towels...etc.) while being centred in the town. it is within walking distance to the Seadog restaurant on the waterfront, tourist centre and many little shops hidden on the side streets near the oldest buildings in town. My only complaint is the check-out time of 10:00 am which leaves no time to do the long list of clean up chores which usually housekeeping is responsible for in many other properties......all bedding stripped and dishes washed along with the rest of the regular clean-up leaves little time to finish especially if the wedding is the night before departure. So I suggest any guests consider that before renting the house and leaving the morning after a wedding. Other than that, our family and wedding party enjoyed the house and compliment the owners on its charm.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
I am so pleased that you and the wedding party enjoyed themselves at Shorewood House. It really is a beautiful property. I am sorry that you found the check-out check-list to be onerous, especially after attending a wedding the night before. As you know it is a large beautifully maintained house and it usually takes a solid 5 to 6 hours to clean before the next guests arrive at 4 p.m. However, having said that, if I had known that you would require an extended check out time, I most certainly could have been more flexible and accommodated your request. I wish your daugher and her new husband a long and happy marriage. All the best, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My home away from home!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I rented this lovely home for a month. I was welcomed by its charm and personal ambience. Lots of whimsy and wonder in the nautical artifacts found in each room. Cosy, homey and functional. I loved it. I miss it already and I've only been gone a week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A fine home entrusted with its loving treasures. I felt like family.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWBklyn
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely, well kept & comfortable”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed for a week and found Shorewood House to suit our needs perfectly. Quiet, comfortable, well-thought out amenities and 50 steps from looking out at stunning sunsets. The kitchen and outdoor BBQ worked well as did the plumbing. No cable TV, but reliable high-speed internet makes up for it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$207
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing