We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
712
579
145
57
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
579
145
57
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake games room lakeside grill hotel dog small lake best westerns pool and hot tub peggy's cove free parking downtown halifax short drive on site restaurant breakfast buffet yogurt front desk staff excellent stay nova scotia
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

The rooms met all our needs although I found them a bit cramped. Breakfast was average. Grounds are quite nice, and the restaurant was good to. We found the location rather isolated, but overall our stay here was pleasant.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank U4381EAcarolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

U4381EAcarolf - Thank you for taking the time to rate & review Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our complimentary hot buffet breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Stayed here for two nights in early September. Everything was great — the check-in and out was easy and courteous; the room and view of the lake were great; breakfast was very good; and the pool was enjoyed by all of us.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Ruth H - Thank you for taking the time to rate & review Chocolate Lake Hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

I stayed here for five nights as a base whilst I explored Halifax. Although a bit out of town it was an excellent base within easy reach of downtown by car or bus. As such, and in such pleasant surroundings beside the lake, it was just right to retreat to at the end of the day to relax and enjoy some really good food. Friendly staff who enjoyed chatting and advising were also a big plus factor.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

John E - Thank you so much for taking the time to rate & review Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are ever travelling to the Halifax area again we hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was lovely. The breakfast in the morning was very good and provided lots of choice. The view from the dining area was spectacular. The hotel is not very centrally located however, it is very easy to get around.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Maureenfk - Thank you so much for your wonderful rating & review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Chocolate Lake Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

The hotel itself is okay, the rooms are adequate size and the bathroom was okay, the issue was everything else. We returned to the hotel around 10:30pm on a Saturday night, the parking lot was extremely crowded with multiple illegally parked cars, causing it to be difficult to maneuver even a small car. When we entered the hotel and alerted the attendant of the gridlock he cut us off and said "Yep, I put them there. A lot easier to move (my car make) than his truck out there." - Unfortunately, these illegally parked cars were a combination of both paying hotel guests, and event guests. Obviously paying guests should get priority parking.

Alternatively, the pool/whirlpool section is nice however this property does NOT provide towels in the changing rooms, or the pool area so you must bring them from your own room. This was found out too late, and had to return to my room soaking wet (sorry maintenance!)

Room had very few outlets, inconveniently placed when available.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Timothy O - Thank you for taking the time to review and provide feedback to Chocolate Lake Hotel. We do apologize if you had issues with parking at our location. Parking is complimentary and based on a first come, first park basis to both hotel & event guests. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews