We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One-of-a-kind trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arctic Watch Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nunavut
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arctic Watch Lodge
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One-of-a-kind trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Arctic Watch is a truly unique experience. The variety of wildlife I saw was amazing. The lodge is only a short walk away from the Cunningham Inlet, where dozens of beluga whales can be seen at a time playing in the shallows. Out on the tundra we saw a variety of birds, herds of muskoxen, arctic hares and foxes

The staff are all very friendly, great guides and very knowledgeable. The in-house chef prepared a fantastic variety of meals and the accommodations were very comfortable.

Time goes by quickly at Arctic Watch and a week went by before I knew it. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Being at Arctic Watch has given me a new love for the north. I spent a week there shooting photos all over the tundra. The staff took me in as one of their own, and the food was some of the best food I've ever had. Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have been thinking about how to get back to Arctic Watch since I got home. This 1 week trip to the North opened my eyes to what amazing travel experiences can be like. When i read about the location, I understood there would be whales but I did not expect Belugas, musk ox, polar bear, arctic foxes, snowy owls etc.

Between the whale watching, the hiking, the tours, the rafting, the Ice bergs and the amazing food I am not sure how I am going to top this trip.

Thank you to the amazing staff for making this a trip to remember.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Most unbelievable experience in the High Arctic you can have. Belugas, musk ox, polar bear, arctic foxes, snowy owls. A knowledgable staff that helps you understand and appreciate all the High Arctic is. The staff is there to ensure personal attention to detail. Incredible food, clean air, pristine environment - just wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gfreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

I stayed at Arctic Watch for 4 days at the end of July 2010 with 10 fellow travelers for the purpose of running the Northwest Passage Marathon hosted by Arctic Watch (Somerset Island, Nunavut, Canada). The marathon itself was uniquely memorable, but no more so than the rest of our adventure!

It's difficult to review Arctic Watch as though it were a "hotel", because it is so much less than that (no TV, no spa, no golf, no shopping) and so much more (beluga whales, polar bears, musk ox, ice bergs, incredible scenery)! It's an entire experience in a location that is as breathtaking as it is remote!

I completely agree with reviewer "sandystorm" who has pretty much said it all, and accurately. Arctic Watch is not a place of luxury, but it's a long way from roughing it. The accommodations are more than adequate and perfectly comfortable. And the meals are delicious! I don't know how they do it, but they manage to offer fine dining in the Arctic!

Richard and Josee and their team have created the perfect place from which to enjoy the magic of the Arctic -- an experience unlike any other! I highly recommend an adventure at Arctic Watch. Ever since I left, I've been wondering how and when I might return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelToRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nunavut hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Arctic
Hotel Arctic
#1 of 4 in Iqaluit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 km away
Capital Suites - Iqaluit
0.0 km away
Frobisher Inn
Frobisher Inn
#3 of 4 in Iqaluit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Watch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Watch Lodge

Property: Arctic Watch Lodge
Address: Cunningham Inlet, Somerset Island, Nunavut X0A 0V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nunavut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Nunavut
Price range (per night): $748 - $1,068
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arctic Watch is a Nunavut 5-star resort, located 500 miles north of the Arctic Circle. Home to over 2000 beluga whales, Arctic Watch is home to the largest annual migration of beluga whales on earth. Guests can see beluga whales, polar bears, arctic foxes, seals, muskoxen, snowy owls and more. Hike the tundra, explore canyons, sea kayak with beluga whales, raft the Cunningham River, fish for Arctic char, ATV the Northwest Passage or relax at Arctic Watch with a glass of wine; the staff at Arctic Watch are on hand 24/7 to ensure the experience of a lifetime. With over 25 years experience, we strive to create tailored experiences, catering the each visitor's desires and abilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing