We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing getaway.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A relaxing getaway.”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at Carriage Hills over Family Day weekend. The staff provided great service and were very friendly. Our boys enjoyed the indoor/ outdoor pool and the kids activities XBox games and Bingo. If you plan on staying in the winter there are many ski resorts near by as well as other winter activities like cross country skiing, snowshoeing dog sledding ect. If you just want to relax you can enjoy the pool. They do have a small games room with one air hockey table and a pool table and four video games, they all cost a dollar. The best time to go to the pool on the weekend is anytime before 4 or 4:30. It gets busy after that. There is an outdoor hot tub too and an exercise room that over looks the pool. We stayed in a studio. It had a mini fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, kettle and a full size sink. Also there is a washer and dryer. If you stay in a one or two bedroom they have a full size kitchen. We got a peek of the room next store it was quite nice. Our unit was nice for a mini holiday for the four of us. We had a king size bed and the boys slept on the pullout couch. We enjoyed our time at Carriage Hills. If you are looking for a lot to do there are lots of activities near by.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HRGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi HRDG and thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and happy to hear your kids checked out the new Xbox activity. It is new this year and it's becoming really popular. Thanks for the comments about the video games. We are currently renovating the Carriage House (in April) including a redesign of the games room. It will be even better!
We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    148
    41
    22
    28
See reviews for
165
114
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Check in is 2 hours behind. Told to come back twice after a full day of skiing is very disappointing. They suggested we wait at the Ridge Club which is painful room of small but loud kids.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicia1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hello felicia1175,
We were happy you took the time to comment on your stay this winter but we weren't thrilled to learn of your delayed check-in. We agree this is not a good start to anyone's stay and we hope the rest of your time with us was much better.
We appreciate your time and your business and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were 9 people so we booked two 2-bedroom suites and it was amazing! The suites were comfortable and I was impressed that there were 3 sinks in my bathroom as well as a jacuzzi.

Everything we needed was supplied - even soap for the dishwasher.

Plus, the outdoor hot tub, indoor/outdoor pool, and sauna were great after a day on the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stubb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Hello Stubb2,
Thank you for staying with us this winter and sharing comments about our spacious condo-suites. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Thanks again
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at Carriage Hills Resort for 3 days in January. We went cross country skiing and snow tubing at Horseshoe Valley Resort and swimming at the Resort's indoor/outdoor pool! We had a studio condo, which had a fridge, microwave, and kettle, plus all the dishware that you would need for 4 people. It was also a really large room, with a balcony. It was a great base. Within about a 5-10 minute drive, we could get to Horseshoe Resort or to the grocery store. The condo was very clean. The drawback re the swimming pool is that you have to dress in your winter layers to reach it as the condos are all separate low-rise buildings. Also, the change rooms are small and that was uncomfortable when it was at all busy. The staff were very friendly and I would definitely stay there again. There are no restaurants at the Resort so, if you were not eating in, you would have to go to Horsehoe or into the nearby little town (again it is all no more than a 10 minute drive, but the options are not vast and are even more limited on a Monday and Tuesday night when I think a few area restaurants are closed).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MANA_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Hello MANA_Toronto,
We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us this winter! Thanks for sharing details about the snow activities you enjoyed, the ski resorts have done a terrific job of building a great snow base. The town you mention is 'Craighurst' and it looks like you discovered some of the conveniences there (there is a grocery store, gas station and LCBO too).
It was kind of you to take the time to share your comments.
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at carriage hills in the first week of October and we were blessed with great weather. It was warm and sunny for most of the week, so we were able to go biking and golfing all week. There is a golf course nearby called Settler's Ghost and we just loved playing it. It is very well kept.
The resort itself is nice with an indoor/outdoor pool and small fitness centre although we didn't use it this time- we were too busy enjoying outside activities. We had a 1 bedroom which was plenty big enough for the two of us and gas fireplace was nice on the cooler evenings. There are gas bbq's scattered throughout the resort so we used it quite often. You definetely need a car to enjoy the area as the resort is 20-30 minutes from Barrie and Orillia which are the biggest cities nearby. There is a grocery store/liquor in Craighurst which is a 5 minute drive. I would highly recommend this resort especially in the off season. During the peak season, I've heard it is very busy and with only one pool it would be packed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddy1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thanks Daddy1922,
Your comments give great insight about your stay and we appreciate that you took the time to share them. Our golf season usually runs from April through October and we are hoping for an early opening this year. We hope you'll be back!
Thanks again and kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
17.0 km away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#6 of 19 in Barrie
954 reviews
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.6 km away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
3.9 km away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
7.0 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price range (per night): $100 - $389
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing