We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exceptional getaway”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We had an incredible weekend at Langdon Hall in August of 2011. It was worth every penny. The rooms are beautiful and spacious and the grounds are lovely. There is a nice pool to sit at, an informative garden tour and cooking demonstration and the food at the restaurant is delicious - from the morning breakfast buffet to the gourmet dinner. It is also a convenient location to see a show in Stratford - we spent two nights at Langdon Hall and on the 2nd night drove to Stratford to see a show and made it back to the hotel around midnight. We look forward to visiting Langdon Hall again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    85
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
63
257
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

A grand mansion with old world flair. My wife and I stayed there on our honeymoon, and on our first anniversary. Both times were incredible.

The best things about Langdon Hall:
Food - Rivals any restaurant - Anywhere. Excellent wines as well.
Service - Attentive to every detail
Spa & Pool - The grounds and facilities are perfect for some real pampering and R&R
Activities - Access to Biking and walking trails through the countryside
Rooms - Large and cozy beds, luxurious bathrooms, and a fireplace. Very Romantic

The worst thing:
Expensive - Expect to shell out some good coin for gourmet cuisine, lux accomodation, and great service. We spent about $1000 for 2 nights. Deals can be made during the week... and i'd still do an all-inclusive package price with dinner.

Langdon Hall is romantic and very relaxing. I recommend it all the time, and I wish we could go again for our second anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissionMan152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My wife and I only had one night to get out of the city and chose this place and was not disappointed. Everything was top shelf. Food was amazing, room was spacious, service was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I spent a few weekends at this hotel in 2011. This hotel is not modern but it's very homey.
They have an excellent spa which is a must do when you visit. Their food is also amazing there! It is a perfect romantic getaway!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BforBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Like the title said this was the best night of my life.
I had planned an engagement at Langdon Hall due to the amazing property and the staff.
The staff are what really make this property special. It was so personal and everyone there always had a smile on there face. We didn't open one door literaly the whole time we were there. The staff were amazing at listening to my plans on how I was going to propose and ensured everything went of with no problems.
This property is something everyone should experience at least once.
Thank you to everyone that made this the best day of my life.
I can definitely see this being our little "Love Nest" over the years to come.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
8.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
2.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
4.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
3.5 km away
Kitchener Inn and Suites
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
4.7 km away
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price range (per night): $236 - $649
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 60 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For three consecutive years the readers of Conde Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing