We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

The reason for three stars is the location, staff and food. I had a procedure done at the hospital so we arrived Tues. evening and left Thurs. morning. It cost $428.72 including $20 a day for outside parking. We were in room 350. The ceiling was stained and cracked, the carpet was very worn, hot water was a long wait for in the morning, free wifi was sometimes non-existent. Heather and Cheryl in the restaurant were amazing and the fish and chips were awesome. Even housekeeping wished us well. I was very disappointed with the room, water and internet. It certainly wasn’t worth the money we paid. The view was spectacular.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1955Debbie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIKingstonwaterfront, Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello 1955Debbie1955,

Your feedback is welcome at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so that we can take the appropriate steps to correct them.

Sincerely,
Felicia Cadotte
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Stopped in Kingston on our way back from Fredericton NB, just wanted a nice place to stay after a very long drive. Rooms are dated, supposedly had a room with a view of the harbour. Well the only thing you could see is where they dock the boats and really in January who cares.TV worked for the first hour, when I went to the front desk I was told well unplug it and leave it for awhile. If that doesn't work well you may not have TV for the night or we MIGHT be able to move you to another room. Unplugging TV worked until the morning when we had to do it again. While at the front desk I over heard the gentleman in front of me receive a $5 voucher for the restaurant. I wasn't offered that??
Next was the bath tub, water didn't drain well and if you wanted a bath you had to fill the tub up with the shower head cause the nozzle was broken to switch from faucet to shower head. But my biggest mistake of all was not booking through hotels.com. In my experience when booking through those websites you get a better price but tend to get a crappier room.I booked straight with the hotel paid way more and still managed to get a crappy room. If I wanted to stay at a cheap hotel I would have stopped at one!! Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express use to be one of the better places to stay but this is now the second time this has happened, I will NEVER make this mistake again! Holiday Inn Express this is the very last time I will ever stay at one of your hotels.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIKingstonwaterfront, Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hello Danielle,

We do apologize for the issues you incurred during your stay with us. When the TV issue was brought to the attention of the staff, we did offer to move your rooms so that we could resolve this for you. Unfortunately, we believed that issues had been resolved when you did not reach back out to us. We do apologize for not reaching out to you to confirm that the issues had been resolved to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Felicia Cadotte
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

The room with lake view is excellent, room is quite clean and renovated with quality. Compare to my previous Holiday Inn experience this is the only above rating experience. However, for a full service hotel like this one I expected to see a better free breakfast (with more varieties such as bagels, fresh fruits, yogurt etc ).
Overall it’s not a bad choice.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank bv2cq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIKingstonwaterfront, Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hello bc2cq,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Felicia Cadotte
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We stayed here on our way back home from the Canada Day celebrations in Ottawa. I was a little apprehensive because of some not so great reviews, but opted to risk it for the downtown waterfront location. Check-in was quick and easy and there is a large parking lot right across the street from the hotel (it's a dead end, so no traffic). There is a restaurant on the main floor of the hotel that is a steakhouse by night and buffet at breakfast with fantastic services for both meals. Our hotel room was relatively clean, but could use some updating. The room was a good size with average beds. I really liked having my morning coffee on the little balcony in the morning.The pool area could also use a bit of sprucing up as it seemed a little dingy when we went for a dip. This hotel has a lot of potential and with a bit of investment, it could be quite great and better worth the price since you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIKingstonwaterfront, Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hello Silverbrook,

Thank you for your thorough and complimentary review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront has to offer. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Kingston.

Sincerely,
Felicia Cadotte
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I am disappointed that I paid $170 for what I would consider a very mediocre hotel. Everything was reasonably clean but the hotel is outdated once you get into the room. I was expecting a far nicer room with a far nicer view for that price.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MacAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIKingstonwaterfront, Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Hello MacAshton,

All hotels from time to time need to be renovated and ownership is currently looking into this.

Sincerely,
Felicia Cadotte
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 km away
Delta Hotels Kingston Waterfront
0.4 km away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
4 km away
Best Western Fireside Inn
0.1 km away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#27 of 37 in Kingston
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $141 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing