We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay close to everything...shopping, dining, history, theatre and wine country.”
Review of Moffat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moffat Inn
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Enjoy this hotel for its uniqueness and comfort.
Enjoy the amenities of the Moffat Inn's sister properties included in your stay.
Spa, swim, work-out and dine using one room key.
Most of enjoy Niagara-on-the-Lake outside the hotels front door.
Theaters are five to ten minute walk. Historic Fort George is fifteen minute walk.
Shopping and dining starts outside the front door of the Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor do not have elevator access. Found them quiet. Room amenities vary so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 688stevenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

The Moffat Inn is fairly old, but definitely not shabby. Our deluxe queen was fairly large, with a small frig, two comfy chairs, TV, 3 windows (all with light blocking drapes which closed easily), a Keurig coffee maker (which sadly was on the fritz and did not respond to our coffee making efforts), a small bathroom with a window and closing shades.
The bed was queen size, with a feather mattress bolster, lots of comfy pillows, and a duvet which was just soft enough to be luxurious but not heavy enough to be overwhelming. The linens were crispy and white, white, white. The towels were heavy white and plentiful. The rain head shower was invigorating. But the robes were the best...long, fluffy and pretty wonderful. Which was a good thing, because at 6:00 AM, there was a hotel wide fire alarm, and most of the guests appeared outside in their robes. Even with this "early wake up call" (which was a overheated duct on the roof) the coffee in the lobby, the ease of parking, the great location for easy walking the entire town, all made up for the minor inconvenience. And we got to meet and converse with lots of other guests...none of whom seemed really upset at the inconvenient early morning wake up. (This may have been due to great 70 degree weather.) We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe queens are larger with more amenities. Worth the few extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank india1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We have been staying at this hotel since 1990. The owners then (and for the next two decades or so) were a local couple who put heart and soul into the place. It was quirky, but functional -- and good value. Since they retired and sold to the monopolistic Vintage Hotels, the quirkiness has become very irksome. Most distressing is the fact that some of the rooms have a central air-conditioning system that cannot be controlled in the individual rooms. We had to endure cold and noise! Individual control is essential, so some serious work is overdue to change this system. There are only two ice machines, and one has been out of order for six months. Housekeeping is slacking, too. We had a large, beautiful spider web on our ceiling, and the sink drain needed to be professionally cleaned. The sheets are not large enough to stay in place. The beds are overdue for replacement -- and please don't go too soft!! We will not give up on the place, but hope that the owners take better care of it. The location is the best in town for theatregoers, and it's the least expensive of the Vintage Hotels. The bathrooms are excellent, and the towels luxurious. The reception staff try hard to please, but there is only so much they can do.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HotelierJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This was our first visit to the Moffat Inn. We found the location to be great. Very close to the shops and beautiful downtown area. Our room was cute, clean, and comfortable. The room we had was on 3 levels. Main level had a couple chairs, dresser with a small TV, and a couple other side tables. Step up into the area where the bed was located, and then step down into the bathroom. Wouldn't have been a good room for anyone with mobility issues. The bathroom had been recently upgraded and even had a nightlight provided. The desk staff were very helpful and courteous.
We opted for the breakfast package and were able to dine at the Prince of Wales Hotel conveniently located just down the block. We also used the pool at the Prince of Wales and found it to be very warm and relaxing.

Room Tip: Have a feeling the rooms are all pretty unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsm201754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The Inn's location on NOTL's main street, within easy walking distance of the Shaw Festival's theaters, would be reason enough to stay there. Add to that its extremely welcoming staff, on-site free parking, comfortable rooms, and attractive rates, and you have an easy choice. My room was not "luxurious," but was fully equipped with a television, refrigerator, and Keurig coffee maker, and the bathroom was updated and outfitted with thick towels.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EllieTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
967 reviews
0.2 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,841 reviews
0.4 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
12.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,423 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moffat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffat Inn

Address: 60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $163 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moffat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moffat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moffat Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing