We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
103
101
46
28
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
101
46
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince of wales new fixtures the main street shaw festival venues ice machine sister hotel desk staff vintage hotel bathroom door excellent location walking distance keurig coffee maker private entrance first floor small hotel free shuttle bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The Moffat Inn is fairly old, but definitely not shabby. Our deluxe queen was fairly large, with a small frig, two comfy chairs, TV, 3 windows (all with light blocking drapes which closed easily), a Keurig coffee maker (which sadly was on the fritz and did not respond to our coffee making efforts), a small bathroom with a window and closing shades.
The bed was queen size, with a feather mattress bolster, lots of comfy pillows, and a duvet which was just soft enough to be luxurious but not heavy enough to be overwhelming. The linens were crispy and white, white, white. The towels were heavy white and plentiful. The rain head shower was invigorating. But the robes were the best...long, fluffy and pretty wonderful. Which was a good thing, because at 6:00 AM, there was a hotel wide fire alarm, and most of the guests appeared outside in their robes. Even with this "early wake up call" (which was a overheated duct on the roof) the coffee in the lobby, the ease of parking, the great location for easy walking the entire town, all made up for the minor inconvenience. And we got to meet and converse with lots of other guests...none of whom seemed really upset at the inconvenient early morning wake up. (This may have been due to great 70 degree weather.) We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe queens are larger with more amenities. Worth the few extra $
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank india1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We have been staying at this hotel since 1990. The owners then (and for the next two decades or so) were a local couple who put heart and soul into the place. It was quirky, but functional -- and good value. Since they retired and sold to the monopolistic Vintage Hotels, the quirkiness has become very irksome. Most distressing is the fact that some of the rooms have a central air-conditioning system that cannot be controlled in the individual rooms. We had to endure cold and noise! Individual control is essential, so some serious work is overdue to change this system. There are only two ice machines, and one has been out of order for six months. Housekeeping is slacking, too. We had a large, beautiful spider web on our ceiling, and the sink drain needed to be professionally cleaned. The sheets are not large enough to stay in place. The beds are overdue for replacement -- and please don't go too soft!! We will not give up on the place, but hope that the owners take better care of it. The location is the best in town for theatregoers, and it's the least expensive of the Vintage Hotels. The bathrooms are excellent, and the towels luxurious. The reception staff try hard to please, but there is only so much they can do.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HotelierJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This was our first visit to the Moffat Inn. We found the location to be great. Very close to the shops and beautiful downtown area. Our room was cute, clean, and comfortable. The room we had was on 3 levels. Main level had a couple chairs, dresser with a small TV, and a couple other side tables. Step up into the area where the bed was located, and then step down into the bathroom. Wouldn't have been a good room for anyone with mobility issues. The bathroom had been recently upgraded and even had a nightlight provided. The desk staff were very helpful and courteous.
We opted for the breakfast package and were able to dine at the Prince of Wales Hotel conveniently located just down the block. We also used the pool at the Prince of Wales and found it to be very warm and relaxing.

Room Tip: Have a feeling the rooms are all pretty unique.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsm201754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The Inn's location on NOTL's main street, within easy walking distance of the Shaw Festival's theaters, would be reason enough to stay there. Add to that its extremely welcoming staff, on-site free parking, comfortable rooms, and attractive rates, and you have an easy choice. My room was not "luxurious," but was fully equipped with a television, refrigerator, and Keurig coffee maker, and the bathroom was updated and outfitted with thick towels.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EllieTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Conveniently located on the main street of Niagara on the Lake. Easy access to all Shaw Festival venues. Convenient parking lot at the rear of the property. No restaurant. No breakfast. No problem! Lots of near by restaurants to suit all tastes....including a new Japanese restaurant under the hotel, we enjoyed a supper meal there! Good rooms reasonably priced!
This is under the same ownership as the prestigious (and pretentious!!) "Prince of Wales" Hotel. Much better value here, enjoy!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews