We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday dinner with friends”
Review of MeNa

MeNa
Reserve with OpenTable
MeNa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 3,001 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$92
Cuisines: French, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: At MeNa, we believe fine dining should be a memorable experience. We make it our job to share pieces of art and culture by creating modern French dishes paired with tasteful Canadian wines to create the ultimate dining experience. By utilizing locally sourced ingredients, our new restaurant in the heart of Little Italy offers many things other do not. With a menu that features a twist on old favorites, exceptional drinks, and a unique tasting menu, MeNa is something that must be experienced and shared with friends. We are deeply rooted in tradition, but always have our eyes open, looking ahead to new flavours and concepts we know our patrons will enjoy. We could not be more driven to offer Ottawa a truly unique and progressive dining experience; we look forward to serving you at MeNa.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had the 7 course meal with wine pairing with some friends all four of us loved the experience. A well paced meal, knowledgeable staff and over all excellent experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 68rarobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi!
Thank you so much for the great review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience, can't wait to have you back again for more culinary adventures :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

I don't know what to think about MeNa, after hearing and reading nothing but good reviews I was looking forward to this meal and I left feeling under-whelmed.

Almost every element was perfect; the service and plating were excellent and the room is nice, the kitchen is beautiful and staff friendly and welcoming but there was no flavour, no seasoning, no florishes, which ultimately left wonderfully prepared dishes feeling dissapointing.

I would hope that it was just an off night, but at these prices it will be a while before we can check it out again!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi Andrew,
So sorry to hear you felt this way. We will definitely take your constructive criticism into consideration to improve our overall experience. We hope to see you again soon for a second chance to impress you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Mena was one of our top 5 restaurants in Ottawa before the reno. We went back for the first time since, and now it's #1. We had the 7 course menu and it was possibly the best meal we've ever had in Ottawa. There wasn't one dish that was just OK - every course was amazing.
If you're a foodie - this is the place to go.

One note - if you plan on taking the wine pairings, don't drive (we didn't). The 7 course wine pairing amounts to close to a bottle of wine each. It was amazing but perhaps a little much. My partner and I might have been better to share a pairing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellingMom259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi there, thank you so much for a wonderful review! We love to hear that our customers are satisfied and keep coming back. Hope to see you soon for more unforgettable meals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

So, we started off challenging this highly-disciplined tasting menu restaurant by being a couple that shares zero overlap in menu preferences and has a couple of allergies as well.

But after just a moment's pause, chef set his cap and got to work, producing not one but two masterpieces, each sending a problem child diner home happy and impressed.

Inventive, surprising, and delicious. They may not want to see us again - but they're going to. . .

Thank StillTheOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Owner at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi there, thank you very much for joining us! We are thrilled to hear that we were able to live up to your standards. You are always welcomed back at Mena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We went to MeNa for my birthday dinner our first time after the recent renovation. I have to say the overall experience was excellent food,service and decor. We had the 5 course option all very good and the wine recommendations were great. It's not inexpensive but the overall value for dollar is worth it. We will go back

Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Owner at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you Danny for the kind words! We are thrilled to hear you had a great night with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MeNa also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Ottawa, Ontario
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to MeNa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing