We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unaccommodating and Disappointing”
Review of MeNa

MeNa
Reserve with OpenTable
MeNa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 2,981 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$92
Cuisines: French, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: At MeNa, we believe fine dining should be a memorable experience. We make it our job to share pieces of art and culture by creating modern French dishes paired with tasteful Canadian wines to create the ultimate dining experience. By utilizing locally sourced ingredients, our new restaurant in the heart of Little Italy offers many things other do not. With a menu that features a twist on old favorites, exceptional drinks, and a unique tasting menu, MeNa is something that must be experienced and shared with friends. We are deeply rooted in tradition, but always have our eyes open, looking ahead to new flavours and concepts we know our patrons will enjoy. We could not be more driven to offer Ottawa a truly unique and progressive dining experience; we look forward to serving you at MeNa.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We had had a nice brunch at MeNa for Mother's Day. It was not a tasting menu, but we enjoyed the food and service. No issues with accommodating allergies or dietary restrictions.

Fast forward to Father's Day. My son made the reservation and noted the nut allergies. We arrived and mentioned the allergies again, that we had two vegetarians, and that my husband is GF and issues tolerating cheese, same as for brunch. The server takes our order and instead of coming back with our drinks, returns to tell us the chef cannot accommodate us. The menu simply states to advise of allergies or dietary restrictions on the bottom. I'm not sure how talented the chef is if he can't manage common allergies like gluten, nuts, or vegetarian diets in this day and age, especially with a tasting menu.

We asked to speak to the manager who simply said they require at least 48 hours notice to accommodate. Interesting, as that timeframe is not listed on the website or menu. Nor had this been an issue for brunch. When we mentioned this, well, then it turned out the chef could accommodate us after all.

Obviously, we're not going to eat a meal prepared by a reluctant chef. My kids were upset that the restaurant they had picked for a special dinner did not work out.

We ended up walking down the street to Giovanni's, and luckily they had a table open. Despite being packed, and with no notice of dietary concerns, we were warmly greeted like we were going to a friend's house. We proceeded to have an excellent meal without any issues or concerns. We left fully satisfied, feeling valued, and agreeing that we probably ended up having a better time and meal.

1  Thank riksha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Owner at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We apologize for all the trouble and your poor experience with us. We are in fact able to accommodate for all the restrictions mentioned, however with vegetarians, in order to prepare the meal properly we do need to know in advance. We apologize again for the inconvenience.
We wish you a good day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

We went there on a Saturday during Italian week. Pretty much all restaurants nearby are full for lunch, and MeNa got only us. That is a bit strange for a highly rated restaurant.

OK, the price on the brunch menu does not look like crazy. They are between 15 and 25. You would say it is fair for a highly rated restaurant. However, the size is almost miserable. And they do not provide any free bread, etc. So you have to basically order at least 2 dishes to call it a meal. Now that is not cheap anymore. The arctic char is very salty. The quiche is good but not great in anyway. The duck confit is actually a good value, compared to other small dishes. The crab cake is too salty. The French toast is actually fantastic, and it is the only dish that I would recommend. But again, a few small pieces for like 15$.

My group of 5 felt disappointed as we had good expectations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alexoz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Owner at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Hi Alex, first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback. We apologize that you and your group didn't enjoy your brunch, we never like to have guests leave unhappy or still hungry. Our brunch is meant to be much different than our dinner and we hope that, if you haven't yet, you come try our dinner as it is to the caliber that you were hoping for brunch. We wish you a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

MeNa is a relatively small restaurant located in a semi residential area approximately a half hour’s walk from Ottawa’s downtown. The establishment features about a dozen tables plus a small bar area, and has a bright and modern atmosphere. The chef uses a variety of seasonal ingredients and prepares different versions of a surprise tasting menu – ranging in price from 115 $ for the five course meal, to 165 $ for nine courses, with optional wine pairings. We had the five course version which began with a lovely amuse bouche, followed by beautifully crafted dishes such as seared scallops, roasted veal, and rabbit loin. There is great attention to detail, and some of the items were highly creative, with the rabbit mousse stuffed braised morel mushrooms being a clear standout. Each dish was beautifully plated and the quality of the food absolutely top notch. In recent years I have shied away from ordering wine pairings, but in this case I was glad to give the 85 dollar pairing a try – the wines were excellent and perfectly accompanied the dishes. I have had many excellent meals in various Canadian restaurants, and our dinner at MeNa may have perhaps been the very best. Michelin star quality comes to mind. This is also true for service, which was impeccable. At no point did we feel rushed, and we ended up staying after dinner for more wine. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phileas_Blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Owner at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Phileas, thank you for the wonderful review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your evening with us and that you decided to go for the wine pairing, definitely not to be missed! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Me and my mother went on a Sunday afternoon for brunch! Our coffee's came in individual french presses, which I thought was really cute! I ordered the french toast with the blueberry compote. It was for sure the most upscale and delicious french toast I'd ever had! I also ordered the fingerling potatoes which we really tasty. The restaurant itself has a very pretty and interesting, almost rustic decor which I love. The bill came out under 50 dollars too. Would go again. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graciesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi there, thank you so much for the excellent review! We're looking forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent experience, taste wines before buying a bottle. Brunch cannot be nicer here. Recommended. Service was very engaging and we were invited into the kitchen.

Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Owner at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you so much Michael for the wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and cannot wait to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MeNa also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Ottawa, Ontario
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to MeNa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing