We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed by staff”

Lone Star Texas Grill
Ranked #423 of 2,880 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our famous fajitas are served up fresh - from the warm flour tortillas to the guacamole and the salsa. Wood fire grilled AAA steaks and smokehouse ribs are all prepared in the barbecue pit. Lone Star guarantees great food, warm southern hospitality, and a good time. We are Canada's only authentic Texas restaurant - the real deal...TEXAS to the BONE!
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I ordered by phone a very specific order but simple. The staff took upon themselves to combine some elements of the order without permission to do so. as a result i had to drive twice to the restaurant, lost my break, my colleague had a very small portion of the ordered meal. We paid full price for an item that was not provided in his entirety. A a consolation prize we were given extra chips and salsa. I felt belittled by the staff during the second encounter, that is just unfortunate. Lone star just lost 5 customers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank borgiadestingm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

borgiadestingm,
Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.
My apologies that your take out experience was unsatisfactory. The manager would like to gather more information from you. Please email your phone number to tequila@lstg.ca for follow up.
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

My family and I have long been Lone Star fans, but our last visit there left us wondering about the direction of this Ottawa mainstay. As I mentioned in the title, our food was still good. However, I also observed the following. The servers seem have lost their cowboy handles, and don't great you with the same zest and friendly easy manner. The welcome bowl of corn chips and salsa are ONLY offered for $1 if you ASK (cheap in my view). The food portions now seem small. Our server didn't seem that interested at the beginning of the meal, but did warm up and improve as the meal was served. We had a birthday sing from the staff for my daughter but somehow felt un appreciated. My guess is that some layer of management has taken their eye off the ball. Poor staff is rarely a reflection on the staff. Time for the Lone Star to revisit what made them successful in the first place. A top notch tex-mex customer experience that starts and ends with well trained motivated staff and a product that seems generous even if expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Pyner,
Thank you for your feedback.
After serving complimentary chips and salsa for over 30 years, we made the tough decision to start charging $1 per order. The good with this charge is that waste has greatly been reduced and the net proceeds go to the Ontario food bank to distribute in our communities. Since the program started back in January, over 100,000 meals have been funded.
My apologies that you found the portion sizes to be smaller and that your service was sub par.
The manager would like to connect with you on these matters. Please email your phone number to tequila@lstg.ca for follow up.
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We had the fajitas for 2 which were excellent. They give just enough toppings. The fajitas are home made fresh so you can't go wrong. The kids hamburgers were expensive and not very good,neither of my kids ate them. Why give such a big bread for a kids burger.

Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hi Martin,
Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us.
We are glad you enjoyed our award winning fajitas. Our apologies that your kids didn't enjoy their burgers. The manager would like to connect with you. Please email your phone number to tequila@lstg.ca for follow up.
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

This location is an Ottawa institution. Although it has changed over the years, the service and food are consistently good. And more importantly the beer is cold. Fajitas are a staple item. Portions are big. Cost is reasonable. You really can't go wrong with this joint (unless you are expecting white table clothes and fine wine and escargot). Solid joint.

Thank AllanKPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thanks AllanKPB!
We appreciate your feedback and nice comments.
Can you believe this Lone Star just celebrated our 31st anniversary??
Drop in again soon!
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Lively place with a good choice and standard of food. However, the drinks are expensive and when we sat at the bar for a pre meal drink, the female bartender was quite miserable which was not a great start to the evening. This was soon forgotten when we met our waitress who was very friendly and efficient. We left the restaurant absolutely full having really enjoyed the meal. Would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eeeeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi eeeeena,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.
We are glad that service picked up after your pre meal drink at the bar.
The manager would like to connect with you to gather more information. Please email your phone number to tequila@lstg.ca for follow up.
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Texas Grill also viewed

 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Lone Star Texas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing