We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$107
Expedia.comUS$106
PricelineUS$107
Hotels.comUS$106
eDreamsUS$107
TravelocityUS$106
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
19
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk highly recommend staying here beautiful room walking biking path lunch or dinner canatara park front desk staff across the street toiletries riverfront tracy mirror getaway beds housekeeping tv amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2021

Mobility challenged people will not like this recently renovated downtown hotel. There is no ramp access to front door. Chair lift access to basement from outside must be operated by front desk staff. ALSO: Showers don't have stippled floor or grab bars. Therefore, unsafe.
BUT: Dining room (?under separate management?) was Excellent: Helpful staff; comprehensive wine list; interesting menu --- heavy on beef.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank DAVE_NIAGARA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabarina bhinder, General Manager at The Insignia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2021

Dear Dave,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant!
Unfortunately due to being a historical property, our properly level is too high above ground level and does not meet the slope requirements for a ramp. Since building a ramp was not a option, we have installed lifts at the main entrance and at the pool/fitness centre entrance . We apologize for the inconvenience caused by waiting for the front desk agent to operate the lift. Due to safety issues, we cannot leave keys on the lift. In terms of shower grab bars, we do have accessible rooms that have them and we are in the process of installing them in all rooms. We appreciate your honest feedback and will use it to improve our services in the future. We sincerely hope that you choose to give us another opportunity to provide with a superior experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Wonderfully updated hotel. Rooms are spacious with fantastic amenities. Only drawback was I found the bathroom incredibly tiny. The shower was magnificent. Just nowhere to move once outside it. Hotel itself was quiet and conveniently located.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Escape37884368052
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aj bhinder, Owner at The Insignia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at The insignia Hotel.
Due to The Insingia being a historical building, we were restricted from making certain changes. We apologize for the inconvenience. We do offer suites that feature a larger bathroom. We look forward to hosting you again soon! thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

Our biggest disappointment was the fact that they do not clean the room and resupply towels or glasses unless you request this at least 24 hours in advance. We were not made aware of this when we booked directly online nor when we checked in. We also would prefer a coffee maker instead of an espresso machine. For the price we paid we will not return as we believe there is better service at other local hotels.

Room tip: Book elsewhere
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lactancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabarina bhinder, General Manager at The Insignia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for not communicating our COVID-19 cleaning policies to you at check-in. We will be resuming daily housekeeping as soon as we are permitted to. Guest services is available 24 hours a day to provide any amenities you may require such as towels, glasses, toiletries, coffee pods, etc. However, full service cleaning is available upon request only due to our COVID-19 cleaning protocols. We hope you choose to give us another chance to provide you with a better experience. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

We stayed in a suite at the Insignia Hotel and it was so amazing!!! There was 2 large rooms, a living room and dining room and then the bedroom. The bathroom was in-between the 2. It was very clean and very welcoming. The girls at the desk were also very kind and helpful. We had a water view room, the water view unfortunately is being taken away by a condo that is being built but we loved the room regardless. The whole hotel is very nice and modern.

I will be back to this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SashaB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ Bhinder, General Manager at The Insignia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Hi Sasha,
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad to hear you felt comfortable and welcomed during your stay! Yes it is unfortunate that we will not able to offer the beautiful view in the near future, but we will continue to improve other aspects of the hotel in any way we can! Our gym and pool will be ready before the end of winter, which we are very excited for! ! We look forward to having you back soon! Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Extremely comfortable accommodations, super clean, front line staff very accommodating & helpful! Ability to walk To some restaurants & shops is a bonus! We highly recommend staying here if you’re in Sarnia!

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ Bhinder, General Manager at The Insignia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Thank you for your kind review! We are very glad to hear you were comfortable and had a chance to experience a little bit of Sarnia! We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews