We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large room but noisy location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

The room was nice, large, and clean. However, the hotel is located in a bar area and we were woken up at 2:30am from people leaving the bars. Also, parking is next to the bar area where we didn't feel safe. We called the front desk to explain about the bubbling from our toilet and bathtub. They indicated they would come take a look but never came. We even stayed up to wait for them. Overall, it was a good stay but we might reconsider returning due to the noise issue.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Justy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017

off season price of $125 was great for a large room with king size bed, a fireplace, a huge jetted tub and a separate shower !
room décor and colours were nice but some of the upholstered furniture is threadbare or seen better days.
Nice little kitchenette but the kettle could use descaling. Bottled water and creamers in the fridge, glasses, mugs, plates and cutlery supplied as well.
Windows don't open but have both blinds and curtains that shut out the street lights.
No elevator.
Check in as at the front of the Bentley pub/restaurant so avoid lunch or dinner rush when checking in. Unfortunately they charge the non mandatory DMP fee and no one knew how to take it off my bill.
Parking is directly behind the inn but it isn't always plowed of snow. Metered parking on the street or in the lot beside the inn.
Walking distance to Avon Theatre and several good restaurants, banks.

Room Tip: rooms at the front will have street noise but a view of downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MOrfitt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We love staying at the Annex Inn. When a business trip brought me to Stratford in the off season and I got a taste of the fine accommodations at cut rates, my wife and I began coming here in mid-winter for long getaway weekends to decompress from the stresses of everyday life. The accommodations at the Annex Room are wonderful, and we've been coming to the same room pretty steadily for nearly 20 years. Clean, well-serviced, central to downtown Stratford - can't recommend them too highly. One of our favorite things is that we simply park the car in back when we arrive and go everywhere on foot. We don't need any more.

Room Tip: The mid-range cost is in mid-winter. During theater season it's more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Visited here in 2015 for dinner and it was amazing. The food was fresh and was so good. Had the avocado tempera and guacamole to start, then both my boyfriend and myself had the steak which was great. Then we decided to make another visit in October 2016 and stayed at the Annex Room Inn. The room was clean and it was quiet. Went again for dinner and was excited they still had the avocado tempera but had a mushroom chicken which was delicious. The creme brûlée with blueberries was amazing so definitely save room. Will continue to go here for dinner on our trips to Stratford.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smashley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed at this hotel for a night with another couple while on a weekend getaway in Stratford. The hotel is easy to find, but checking in is a bit confusing as you enter Bentley's restaurant from the back door, and have to make your way to the front of the restaurant where the check-in desk is located. It was dark when we arrived, so if there is signage explaining this, we didn't see it. Also, there doesn't seem to be reserved parking for the hotel, and as it was dinner time on a Saturday night, finding a place to park was difficult.

All this aside, once we checked in, our stay was really good. The rooms are very large, and have comfortable beds, living room furniture for four people, a fireplace, huge Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, nice tv, fridge, etc. The room was also very clean, and bright with several large windows. Lastly, the hotel was very quiet.

Other than parking, the location is excellent. As others have mentioned, all of downtown Stratford's shops and restaurants are a short walk away; no need to drive anywhere.

All in all, I would highly recommend staying here if in Stratford. Also, I realize November may be off-season, but the price was great as well!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#4 of 18 in Stratford
409 reviews
1.3 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#5 of 18 in Stratford
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
0.2 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
341 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Room Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Room Restaurant & Inn

Address: 38 Albert St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: $147 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annex Room Restaurant & Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These fabulous executive guest rooms feature luxurious furnishings and first-class amenities.Each room offers one king, or two queen beds, a well-appointed sitting area with gas fireplace and stereo system, and an elegant bathroom with a large whirlpool and separate shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Annex Room Restaurant & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing