We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Boutique Hotel in Midtown Toronto”
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This is a small, totally charming, upscale boutique hotel which is housed in a beautifully maintained heritage building. Rooms are spacious, lovingly furnished with all modern amenities including Nespresso machine and complimentary pods. Service is friendly and helpful, and the location is ideal. A bit pricey but highly recommended if one's budget permits.

Room Tip: King suites have separate living room and bedroom areas. Bath products are lovely and shower pressur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeesKnees17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We fell in love with this place as soon as we walked in. The building itself is amazing, the rooms have accounted for the very small details, but the best part was the staff. Every single person we encountered was really great, truly Canadian too. Everyone was down to earth, friendly, with a sense of humour, while maintaining extreme professionalism- not easily accomplished.

Would we go back? In a second. Did I mention how great the rooms were? Spacious, clean, and your slippers are already laid out for you.

Amazing.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

My husband and I stayed at this gem of a hotel on our recent get-way weekend (6/9-6/11) to Toronto. The Windsor Arms is, in our opinion the perfect mix of old world charm, and modern comfort...well appointed, quiet, and comfortable rooms, and the perfect location to explore the city.
However, what truly made staying at this establishment a joy was the fabulous staff. From the front desk where we received a warm greeting by Sal, and Kevin who went out of his way to help with directions and recommendations and even insisted using his own stamps to mail our post cards...to Gary the bartender who treated us like old friends, and Jasper (?) our waitperson in the Tea Room who was gracious and charming. Right up until moments before we had to say goodbye and head out to the airport and a young lady whose name escapes me who went above and beyond to deal with a fatality printer and get our boarding passes printed out, the staff there was truly exceptional, and they will be the primary reason we stay here on any future visits to Toronto.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank EastVillageBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Two local friends recommended this hotel and it did not disappoint. An outstanding pick if you like smaller boutique hotels with plenty of charm. Excellent staff ( although breakfast service is quite slow, though still enjoyable in a turn of the century drawing room atmosphere). Quite small; I think something like 28 rooms. Yorkville area is a nice break from downtown and full of walkable shops, restaurants and pubs. Royal Ontario Museum is just 5 minutes down the street. Very peaceful oasis in a big bustling city. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoustonTexatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

I am so happy we decided to book our wedding at the Windsor Arms Hotel. We were looking for a venue that was more unique and cozy than a banquet hall, and Windsor Arms definitely has that vintage charm! We received so many compliments on our venue of choice because of the sheer beauty of the venue. The aesthetics was a huge deciding factor, and the fact that they have an in-house kosher kitchen.

I loved the fact that George, the owner, worked with us along the way, and made the time to meet with us and the catering manager (Sharon). Made us feel like VIP patrons throughout. I read other reviews online prior to booking this venue, and I have to give George credit—he may be “rough around the edges” (mind you, so am I), but we brought some of the bad reviews online (which you’ll always find) and asked him to address the issues, and he was very straight forward and open about it, and made us feel assured that we would not experience any issues. Everything is laid out in your contract, and he allowed me to personalize aspects of the contract to better suit our needs. That was one of the elements that I appreciated most, the fact that everything was customized to our requirements.

Sharon went above and beyond to address every concern we had, and met with us on multiple occasions throughout the year we were planning. Right down to making sure the size of the strawberries on the plated dessert were proportional. This attention to detail was amazing! We also got a lot of compliments on the food!

For me, one of the best parts about the wedding venue was that they really let us have the run of the hotel on our day. We had a rather large wedding for the venue (180 people), and our guests were all over—in the restaurant, in the bar, upstairs, in the main hall….and they did not give us a hard time at all. In fact, they even allowed us to take some wedding photos in the restaurant, which we really appreciated. The wedding suite is gorgeous, and they let us check out the next day very late in the afternoon. All in all, we felt like royalty.

For the cons, there aren’t many. First, while we knew this when booking the venue, the venue is really much better for weddings under 150 people (seated dinner with dance floor). It got pretty crowded during cocktail hour, which also lasted a little longer than I would have preferred (though not sure if this was the venue’s fault or my other vendors). So I would say just be prepared for 2 hours of cocktails and get extra hors d’oeuvres. The other thing to note is that this is not a cheap venue….if you are looking for a budget venue, this is not an option. We didn’t do flowers or fancy décor, or super expensive wedding dress, etc. We chose to allocate majority of our budget to the venue because it was so important to us. So be prepared to pay a premium for a historical landmark 5-star venue. Parking is only valet, so we did not cover this for our guests (we also had open bar and didn’t want people driving anyway).

All in all, we are very happy with our choice, and we really felt special on our day. The food was great, the venue looked amazing, and working with Sharon was such a pleasure. We look forward to staying at the hotel in the future, and reliving our memories!

Room Tip: Stayed in Sultan Suite, gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank livgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
721 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Address: 18 Saint Thomas St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#29 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $444 - $858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing