We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place to stay on a budget” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jarvis House Bed And Breakfast Inn Downtown Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jarvis House Bed And Breakfast Inn Downtown Toronto
Ranked #76 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a decent place to stay if you're on a budget. The house is a bit dingy, but not dirty. Breakfast was decent. If you're someone who only cares about simple, clean accommodations because you're going to be out and about all day -- and you're on a budget -- then I would definitely recommend this place. Location is good too. Public transit system in Toronto is really great, so you can get around anywhere no matter where you were staying. If you're looking for luxury, modern accommodations, you're going to have to fork up a bit more for that. Others on this site who are complaining about the place need to face the facts that it costs A LOT to maintain a high-end, modern upkeep of an old house in one of the most expensive cities in the world. They probably are hipsters who have never been in a third-world country and are used to the Hilton that mommy and daddy paid for, and have a false idea that all places are as such. The house is old, but it is clean. If you can appreciate that, then you will be fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarMej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    8
    9
    17
See reviews for
7
30
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This property has potential and great location!
The pictures of Jarvis House are deceiving sorry to say. I would not stay or recommend this Bed and Breakfast. Note: good idea to check out Trip Advisor as this place needs a good clean, lots of paint and new flooring. When a host mentions they are not familiar with the location of Massey Hall you should question this. Also, when she is in a hurry to be paid before you see the room the red flags should be a warning!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2live2love2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We came for one night in Toronto and wanted to be close to downtown attractions. I selected the Jarvis house over the Internet as it looked funky and boasted the place was immaculate.

It is an old row house which is which is capable of being something really amazing. There is character and interesting alcoves galore.

However, it is dirty and run down and things are broken. It is most certainly is NOT "immaculately maintained accommodations". It is not completely disgusting but for the price I expected a much nicer place.

I would not stay here again, and do not recommend it.

Room Tip: If you would like a good, clean room, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JER58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

After driving from Chicago, Illinois, we arrived at the Jarvis House in Toronto. Upon arrival, we observed a home that was in need of much attention. Yes this is an old house, but as an investment property, one must invest money back into the property to maintain and upgrade it. This has not been done! The minimum has been invested into this B&B! Per the website (http://www.jarvishouse.com/) they advertise their B&B as "immaculate housekeeping" and an "immaculately maintained accommodations." This couldn't be further from the truth! I cannot see how other reviewers can recommend this or give it good reviews!!! We reserved a "GOLD STAY" room, the most expensive room. We arrived early and decided to leave our luggage in the room and explore the city. As we entered room #11, the bedding was not on the the bed due to the staff preparing the room. We observed very large stains on the mattress and the pillows were stained as well. The host said she could remove these stains for us, but this begs the question...why haven't they been removed prior to our complaint!!! Disgusting! Please do not stay here unless dirty accommodations are what you're accustomed too! The photos do not show what is at the heart of this B&B and after our complaint, the Youtube video link on their website has been taken down. Curious to say the least, but you have been warned!

Room Tip: Do not go here! Disgusting and gross!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chris8839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We really enjoyed our three-night stay. Erika is so kind and warm, and we really felt welcomed. The location is great, especially considering the very low price. Everything is within walking distance. We couldn't find any hotels that came close to the price, plus parking was available at $10/night. The house is a bit older, but it is very clean and well-maintained. We definitely recommend the Jarvis House!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntieEm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#7 of 115 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Downtown
Margie Townhome Suite
Margie Townhome Suite
#59 of 115 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jarvis House Bed And Breakfast Inn Downtown Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarvis House Bed And Breakfast Inn Downtown Toronto

Property: Jarvis House Bed And Breakfast Inn Downtown Toronto
Address: 344 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 2G6, Canada (Formerly Jarvis House Downtown Toronto Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price range (per night): $72 - $187
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jarvis House is one of the most popular B&Bs that offer affordable, comfortable, and immaculately clean accommodation in the heart of Toronto’s business, tourist and entertainment district. All private bathrooms, air-conditioning, color cable TV, free wireless Internet access, and ample on-site parking. Steps to streetcars, subway, and airport transit; an easy walk to dining, shopping, theatres and many major city attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jarvis House b&b Inn Downtown Toronto
Jarvis House Bed And Breakfast Inn Downtown Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing