We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Inn Toronto Downtown West
Nearby Hotels
US$215
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
US$228
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$230
US$217
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$225
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$279
US$263
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$197
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$219
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$328
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$317
US$308
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$294
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
9
41
84
77
173
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
41
84
77
173
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The room was probably about 30 degrees celcius or more and the floor was hot to touch. There was no way to turn down the heat inside the room. The window was wide open when we arrived but not helping and had no screen. We ended up turning the AC up to try and help the room cool down.

Additionally the room was tiny, terribly designed dirty and smelled. It did not appear that the room had been cleaned prior to our check in. Also when we tried to call down to the office to ask how to turn down the heat we realized the didn't work.

We went downstairs and asked the desk staff about the heat and they indicated it was controlled there. He then didn't look away from us pressed a "button" and said it should be better soon.

We then went out for 3 hours to dinner. Upon our return the room was still just as hot and just as unsafe. We determined that there was no point in staying as we didn't feel comfortable and knew it would be an awful night. We instead paid for a room we couldn't use and then drove another 1.5 hours home instead.

Additionally when we connected with the hotel after they argued with us about our reservation (despite us clearly checking back out the night of) and said it was too bad we had an awful stay but there was nothing they could do about it.

Room Tip: Don't book here! Find a better hotel
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

My room was filthy and freezing cold when we walked in. When I asked for another room or new bedding, I was handed ONE fitted sheet and ONE top sheet for two beds and no blankets, the new sheets were filthier than the ones replaced.
Poor customer service, terrible cleanliness and not worth even half of what I paid for.
We did not stay the night, we drove home.
I intend to reach a manager until I am refunded my money.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank T1013SEnancyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

As a disabled person I was stunned to find out that the only parking being offered was a ramp two blocks away. When looking at the pictures provided by the website it does not accurately show the location, it shows the building but omits the fact that it is basically on an island with the rail yard surrounding it. Tracks, rail cars and parking only designated for workers of the transit system surround the building and one spot, seriously one spot, was offered when I stressed my mobility issues and even then an extra fee for parking on the sidewalk next to our accommodations was required. Even the lot being recommended had a substantial fee associated with it, I may not be a world traveler but I have stayed in enough hotels where I can say this is the first time I've been charged to park where I stayed. Also it's important for me to say that when you book your room at this hotel the website shows a picture of the downtown Center Howard Johnsons and although it was my responsibility to check further I think that if you're showing a picture of a particular lodging that's what you should expect, not looking at a steak and getting tofu.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank kennethpM4273JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews