We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
207
9
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
9
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts captain ted cn tower within walking distance bed and breakfast each morning breakfast was delicious other guests living space own bathroom big city walked everywhere enjoyed our stay toronto area lake ontario public transit union station
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I booked the Boatel as a surprise for my partners 30th. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were looked after more so than any other accommodation we have stayed at, and we like to travel so have stayed at many hotels/B&Bs. Diane and Ted give the personal touches that is missing from other venues. It was more like staying on a friend's boat and being looked after than a B&B. Thank you both for making our stay so enjoyable. Adele and Mark x

Here's a pic of the view from our cabin

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you Adele and Mark. It was lovely to meet you both. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Dianne and Ted were the perfect hosts! We booked the Boatel because we saw the other reviews and they were spot on. We arrived around lunchtime and Dianne had our room ready which we weren't expecting, the boat itself is lovely inside with cosy cabins and plenty of space to relax on deck. We both loved the local knowledge that Ted and Dianne have and they gave us some excellent pointers of what to see, where to visit and places to eat. Talking to them gave us a real insight into a city that you just don't get in a hotel. Breakfast was delicious, the location is fab, Dianne organised an Edge walk at the CN Tower for us and they even invited us to join them for dinner with their friends. Our only problem was that we had to leave as we'd only booked it for half our trip! Fab people, fab boat and amazing memories.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank becjones2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you Becky. Delightfully to have met you both.

Diane and Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

My second stay at Making Waves. That says volumes and I wasn't disappointed. Ted and Diane are absolutely the best. The B&B....the best. Breakfast? To kill for.
Diane gave me the same stbd cabin I had the previous Indy and off I went.
I won't repeat last year's review verbatim but nonetheless...in a nutshell...same. I just wish I could rate my experience with this couple and their yacht higher than 5 stars.
It would be deserved. An exceptional value.
Thanks you two and as soon as next year's Indy date is announced....hopefully you will have a spot avaliable for me.
I'd like very much to 3peat.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Scubabob2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thanks Rob. We'll be sure to keep a room for you next year. Is great when we host guests but its even better when they come back again and again.

Till next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed for four nights at the Boatel and it was a fabulous experience! Diane is an amazing hostess, who made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived, offering us beer and wine to settle in. We had never visited Toronto before and she took a lot of time to explain the basics of the city to us, all the festivals currently taking place and even recommended a couple of mouth watering restaurants which were a bit off the beaten path. (Diane - forgot to tell you that we loved the sushi pizza!)

They offer five star hotel accommodation on a cozy family boat, the rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day, clean bedding and towels after two days and always a little chocolate near the pillows when we got home after exploring the city. Did I mention that she cooks fabulous breakfasts and serves delicious coffee? Did I mention that she will get theatre tickets for you, organise your bus tours, make restaurant reservations? Not only that, she makes her own wine, which tastes GREAT and was the perfect drink to sip whilst watching the sun set. The views from the boat are truly stunning.

Both Diane and Ted made us feel very welcome as a gay couple, which is unfortunately not always the case, and we both loved meeting the different guests over breakfast and sharing life stories with so many interesting people.

I cannot recommend this place enough, and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Stephen,
You two were the perfect guests and so easy to please. Word must have gotten out because we have had 3 gay couples since you! We are so glad that you loved Toronto as much as we do. We look forward to having you back one day! Hope your ring always reminds you of Toronto and the Boatel.

Cheers

Diane & Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We stayed at the Making Waves Boatel on July 22nd and 23rd. We can't say enough good things about the boat and our hosts! We have visited several bed & breakfasts and must say this was truly an awesome and unique experience and we wished we could have stayed longer. The boat is beautiful and Diane and Ted were delightful. They were so interesting to talk with and Diane was very helpful and took time to sit down with us and map out various places for us to see while we were in Toronto.

The boat itself is a 65 foot trawler with a spacious and gorgeous interior with beautiful wood throughout. We found it very interesting to see how the boat's design provided lots of storage for the homeowners and that there was not an inch of wasted space.
During our visit we made use of the comfortable livingroom, the enclosed dining area, and the outside space where we gazed at the Toronto skyline and people-watched while enjoying coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening.

We stayed in one of the smaller cabins known as the Veradero cabin. It was cozy, yet provided us with plenty of room for ourselves and our bags.

We also need to mention that Diane is a wonderful cook and made scrumptious breakfasts for us each morning.

All in all our visit aboard the Boatel was lovely and very memorable and we hope to visit again one day. Thank you Diane and Ted with sharing your home with us. Best wishes! Rita and Gary

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you Rita and Gary. Were glad you pick us to stay in Toronto to celebrate your birthday and that we could introduce you to the delights of our wonderful city.

All the best.

Diane & Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews