We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Making Waves Boatel
Ranked #3 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Staying at the Boatel is a great experience unlike any other. I loved everything about this watery accommodation. The hosts are very friendly, helpful and professional. The location is perfect in downtown Toronto and the views are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Radoslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for the wonderful comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Toronto at the Boatel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

My wife and I stayed four nights with Diane and Ted, and enjoyed every minute aboard Boatel 1. It's docked a short walk or tram ride from Union Station, so getting around Toronto became very easy. Even better, Diane welcomed us with a thorough orientation to the city, and made reservations and recommendations for a couple of really excellent restaurants (which were our favorite meals in Canada, outside of her own proudly presented breakfasts each day.) The feeling of family that our hosts and their other guests generated means that we will return to the Boatel the next time we are in town.

Room Tip: it's a boat - don't stay in your sleeping quarters - use the living areas and decks to sprea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Looking forward to the next visit. Hopefully our Blue Jays do better next season.

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I greatly enjoyed my stay, wonderful location, cosy room, fabulous breakfasts. This treat is on my schedule each time I stay in Toronto. You will want to come back again. So close to downtown, the aquarium, baseball stadium and the harbor, what a great place to walk about.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

See you next year!!!

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

What a wonderful experience! The hosts were so welcoming and knowledgeable. Our room was so clean. There was something about being on the water, enjoying our wonderful breakfast and being in such a calm environment. We had breakfast with a few of the other tourists and it was so much fun! The Boatel is close to everything you need to see in downtown Toronto and we walked everywhere. Thank you!

Room Tip: Easily accessible to downtown Toronto and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 980marcelv2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We're glad you enjoyed your holidays (and baseball games). Thanks you for the lovely comments. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Sometimes things are just meant to be!!!!! We had booked a condo through Booking.com 6 months ago and at the last minute the host cancelled our booking (and he received multiple bad reviews!) Anyway, it really was meant to be that we were able to secure a booking at this truly amazing place actually on Lake Ontario. Diane and Ted were fabulous hosts, even when we arrived veru late due to a delayed train arrival. Breakfasts were out of this world and Diane was a font of knowledge. What better way to wake up than in a cabin and views of the CNTower and amazing sunrises.

Room Tip: Accommodation is in one of 3 cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thanks Sally. We're glad that the last part of your trip was better than the first and that you were able to view one of our outstanding sunrises before your Niagara Falls trip. Remember to look up the Blueberry Dutch Baby recipe on our blog on our website.

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
West End
Clinton and Bloor B&B
Clinton and Bloor B&B
#2 of 118 in Toronto
711 reviews
Midtown
Rose Garden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Making Waves Boatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Making Waves Boatel

Address: 539 Queens Quay W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: $214 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Making Waves Boatel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the most unique Bed and Breakfast in Toronto aboard a 65 foot motor yacht moored in the heart of downtown Toronto. Guests are gently rocked to sleep and wake-up to the smell of freshly brewed coffee and a gourmet breakfast surrounded by a post card view of the city and Toronto harbour. Leave the car and walk everywhere, shopping, catch a baseball game with Toronto Blue Jays at the Rogers Centre, CN Tower, and restaurants galore... all within a short walk or street car access away. Close to the theatre district with many choices of live theatre and musicals to choose from. Take time to enjoy a hop-on-hop-off tour of the city or rent bike to tour the waterfront. Book the whole boat and ask us about having dinner on our skylounge. Take in one of the charters in the harbour for a romantic evening cruise before returning to your own private yacht. Come back to the boat to enjoy the spectacular view from the aft deck and experience life on the water. Warning: marine life is addictive; your first visit won’t be your last. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Making Waves Boatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing