We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
207
9
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
9
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts captain ted cn tower each morning smaller cabins bed breakfasts edge walk within walking distance breakfast was delicious amazing place to stay other guests living space own bathroom rogers centre convenient location public transportation ball game
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018

We enjoyed staying on the Boatel during our visit to Toronto. Our hosts ensured we were comfortable during our stay, offered suggestions for things to see and do in Toronto, and breakfasts were great! We took advantage of offers noted on their website to book a day trip to Niagara Falls and to purchase the owners season ticket seats to a Blue Jays baseball game during our stay too. The location was convenient for walking to many downtown attractions and to public transportation.

Room tip: The room with a private bath was very comfortable.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfh410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad we could help make your visit to Toronto memorable.

Diane & Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

This very special accomodation on the Lake Ontario in the heart of Toronto is fantastic. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. We were guests at their home on their boat. The breakfast was also very, very delicious.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank guidobruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thank you Guido. We're glad you enjoyed the Boatel and we're glad we had an opportunity to get to know you.

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

There is not many people that would choose to go to Canada's largest city in the hottest time of the year, but that is exactly where we went. After our long flight we arrived at the Boatel and we were ecstatic to begin our trip. The Boatel was amazing! We shared both side bedrooms and shared a bathroom. The environment was great! Everything was clean, organized and looked brand new. After being in the desert like conditions it was nice to be sealed in an conditioned room to relax. On the deck in the evening passerby's constantly looked at us wondering why they weren't sitting where we were. Considering the fact that we are downtown Toronto, it was surprisingly quiet and calm in the harbor.

Beyond the environment, the two crewmen Diane and Cap'n Ted are some of the friendliest and welcoming people we have ever met. We ate gourmet breakfasts every day prepared by Diane and chatted about the day to come. They were always excited to hear what we had planned and always offered a way to travel there and events we could experience. Located right in the heart of downtown Toronto it is easy access to most tourist attractions as you can walk to the CN Tower, Rodgers Center, and Ripley's Aquarium. They even offered us an assortment of movies to watch in the evening to end off the day.

Without a doubt this was one of the best experiences we have encountered on our trips and would stay there a second or even third time in a heart beat.

Thank you Diane and Cap'n Ted!

Room tip: All rooms are great on the Boatel, spacious, air conditioned, nautically themed, clean, quiet, cozy.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tyler_Cher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thank you Tyler. Our lives are enriched by the people we meet - and we enjoyed meeting you and your mom. It was a pleasure to cook for you and get to know you both. After 6 days you felt more like friends than guests! We're glad that we were able to make it memorable and allow you to experience your first blue jays game!
Best regards,

Diane & Cap'n Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

What a wonderful experience! So special to be on the water which nurtured a lovely sleep while offering an excellent breakfast and an ideal setting for relaxing in the evening. Ted and Diane are top notch hosts and so informed about the many experiences available in Toronto! We were able to get a nearby tour bus that provided easy access to a number of the sites we had hoped to see. Would strongly recommend the Making Waves Boatel, S & H.

Room tip: As friends, we booked 2 rooms with a shared bath & it worked beautifully.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thank you Hazel and Sally - you were great guests. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it becomes an annual getaway for your ladies.

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Had a fabulous couple of nights on the making waves boatel. Diane and Captain Ted made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was excellent. All in all a great beginning to our fabulous Canadian holiday.
I would highly recommend staying on the boatel

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Relax611904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews