We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good brisket!”
Review of Hogtown Smoke

Hogtown Smoke
Reserve with OpenTable
Hogtown Smoke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #303 of 9,234 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$38
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: East End
Description: Southern-style barbecue dripping with flavour rules at this Beach newcomer, the standstill evolution of its wildly popular barbecue-on-wheels predecessor. Here, Pit Master Scott ' Hogfather' Fraser & his brother Kevin take enthusiastic customers on a ride through the expansive wonders of smoking, grilling and saucing with stops along the way at pulled pork, brisket and baby back ribs meaty enough to shame a caveman. Everything is cooked a long time here, but your patience pays off in spades. Guests dig in with both hands, their collection of spent napkins growing in direct relation to their enjoyment of the meal.
Reviewed 2 October 2017

If you like your brisket on the black peppery side, you will love Hogtown Smoke's.
Its not cheap but it is so good!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank ttgtrenholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Hogtown Smoke, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed Hogtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Like most restaurants on Queen Street it is quite small, although they do have a covered patio in the back. Food is excellent. Brisket can be quite fatty, which is not unusual, but they don't appear to offer a "lean" version although I would ask next time. The burnt endz sandwich was amazing. Pulled pork and sausages also excellent, all the meats we tried were extremely tender. Servers are friendly. Good selection of craft beer to complement the food. Someone else noted the stairs to the bathroom are very steep, which is true - you have to be very careful but they do warn you before you go down to watch your step.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SueO_MikeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Hogtown Smoke, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We're glad you enjoyed your overall experience, Sue and Mike! We thank you for your visit and feedback. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

In a city that is becoming a hotbed of smokey goodness and awesome lip smacking ribs and wings this one spot (actually they are opening a second, but i digress) is head and shoulders above the rest ... and if they have been open more than 6 months then i have been there. There are a couple of big places but no one ... and I mean NO ONE beats the Hogtown Smoke. Try the burnt endz (my fav) ...or literally anything on the menu ...never had the rabbit food, ask my wife about that .... and yes... they call it rabbit food! I have been there many times and it is consistently, repeatedly wickedly wonderful. They have not let me down once and they are they only smokehouse i can say that about!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank MrMastino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Hogtown Smoke, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for the kind words! It is such a great accolade to be recognized as the best BBQ in town!! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Loved the hospitality from the owner who came and chatted with us while she took care of our orders.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank chriswilliams_d7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Hogtown Smoke, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thanks for stopping by! Looking forward to having you join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Small quaint place with challenging washroom access. Friendly and helpful staff. Tasty and plentiful food.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank petr_cespiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Hogtown Smoke, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your visit and feedback, we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogtown Smoke also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Hogtown Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing