We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$184
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$251
US$196
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$260
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$239
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
14
23
26
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
23
26
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueens parkkensington marketplace to sleepstayed here for nightscentral locationlight sleeperunion stationbreakfast buffetaccommodationstreetcarfacilitiesfridgewifidormcorridor
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Pros – Location, cheap vs. alternatives, fairly comfy bed, good location

Cons – Toilets can be 3 blocks away – not ideal for the middle of the night, Noisy as School Trips use accommodation so our room was surrounded by school kids, Room dark and dingy, didn’t feel the cleanest, staff on reception a bit useless when couldn't find our booking so had to be sorted out by booking office but no one communicated this to us so we were stood around for half an hour not sure what was going on - not ideal after a long flight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Don't expect anything more than a place to sleep at night. This is a very basic 'hotel'. It's located very conveniently downtown Toronto, within walking distance of many attractions.
The rooms are very basic, you get a mattress, a small desk, and a shared public bathroom/showers. The price is cheap, we were 2 people, stayed for 1 night, for 58$.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The place was reasonably clean, but it is in a 1960s or 70s concrete building so it is not beautiful. This wouldn't matter because it is cheap and well-placed for downtown Toronto.

This hall is set up for school groups and sports teams - not for visitors from the general public. The worst thing was the attitude of the staff, who are apparently only geared to deal with students. The girl on reception was very friendly but had little clue how to deal with most of my questions - I concluded that she was not trained. Her supervisor treated me like a badly behaved first-year student. The information on line says, for example, 'A pillow is provided' - what it does not say is that if you need another pillow, you can't have one. The worst thing was not that there are no pillows but that the supervisor spoke contemptuously to me as if I should have read the instructions and it was my own fault that I didn't bring one.

The kitchen had nothing except work surfaces, settees, a cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer. I.e. no pans, crockery, cutlery, kettle or utensils. I was given a paper cup so I could heat water in the microwave. This kitchen might work if you were Canadian and coming by car so you could bring all you needed. For an Englishwoman coming on the train, it was of almost no use at all.

I have stayed in many university halls of residence before and this was definitely one of the worst organised. For example, in my last couple of days a party of young teenage boys arrived and were staying all around me. My bathroom was moved by the simple expedient of putting a notice on the door. Sharing a floor with a group of boys was not my idea of fun.

There is a good and cheap laundry room. The bathrooms were cleaned fairly regularly. The place is cheap. Those are the only good points.

I would advise anyone not to go there. It should not be being advertised to the general public.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Toronto is an expensive city for accomodation, and this university residence is a total bargain. Of course, you'll get a basic comfort, with shared bathrooms, but the room is really OK. On the other hand, you will benefit from the common area equipments, which include a shared fridge, microwave oven, etc. What's more, the location is top-notch, right smack in the city centre. Oh, and: there's Wifi! :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marjorie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed in the long-term Wetmore Hall Residence for one week in August 2011. Basic room with pillow, sheets, blanket and bedspread; desk with chair; and telephone included but mine didn't work. Very economical accommodations in a very expensive city. Laundry machines were $1 per load and $0.50 to dry. Breakfast buffet was available while I was there but can be sporadic depending if there are large groups staying on campus. Right across from Spadina trolley line and a 5 minute walk to subway ($3 CAD with transfers).

Room Tip: Reserve early as the University of Toronto summer lodging fills up quickly
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews