We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shipwright Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dundee Arms Inn(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodd Charlottetown(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel on Pownal(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holman Grand Hotel(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Harbour House(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites of Euston(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sonata Inn(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great George(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
306
35
8
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
35
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschart roomb bcrows nestoff street parkingwonderful visithelpful hostsbreakfast was deliciousa wonderful place to stayfruit saladshort walkthoroughly enjoyed our stayour room was spacioussitting roomtwo nightseach morningwithin walking distancehome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

What a treat it was! Judy and Trevor were wonderful hosts - serving afternoon tea as well a sumptuous breakfast. The Shipwright Inn is a gorgeous old home of a ship captain on the edge of old historic Charlottestown. The home is decorated to reflect the times of the 1850's.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

the microwave re-heated breakfast was a real disappointment. That corner cutting really hurt the value and took away from an otherwise nice B & B. Will definitely try a different one next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burkevillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREAMER55, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

It is always very disappointing as Innkeepers to receive a review which implies that one of guests this year was not satisfied. Our breakfasts during the season, prepared by our Red Seal chef, have been the highlight for many, as indicated by our numerous other reviews. We use local products where ever possible and items are cooked to order. Records are kept of all daily menus so we are able to see what this reviewer actually had for breakfast. whilst staying with us. The scrambled eggs, which were on the menu for the first morning of their stay were indeed cooked from fresh in the microwave oven as experience has shown us that this creates light and fluffy eggs which have not dried out in a frying pan, as is often the case in many restaurants. The accompanying two items were cooked in our conventional oven. We would respectfully suggest that in hearing the bleep of the microwave that the guest mistakenly assumed that the entire meal was reheated. This is definitely not the case. We have an open kitchen which sits in the middle of the dining room and are more than happy for any of our guests to come in and watch breakfast being prepared for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My partner and another couple have just spent 5 weeks traveling through Canada and northern USA. We stayed in a variety of accommodations but we rate this as the best. It was hard to make this call because most were very good, but what tipped the scales for them was the food. 1st rate breakfasts and scrumptious afternoon teas.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50somethingAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We recently spent time at the Shipwright Inn. Everything couldn't have been more perfect! The room was spacious and tastefully done and breakfast was special and wonderfully presented each morning. A great way to start the day.
There were so many personal touches and Judy and Trevor made us feel as we were special friends. We also valued the central location and were able to take advantage of well-recommended restaurants nearby.
We can only say that if you're in Charlottetown, THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!



All we can say is-----don't hesitate to book here, it really is a "home away from home" - a place to meet happy, cheerful people.

Room Tip: The Crow's Nest is a suite with little kitchen, living room, separate shower and a shared balcony. Stairs may present a problem with heavy cases.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna4310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Well, I can sum this experience up in three words. Simply the Best!!!!!
We were a party of seven,done everything over a phone and email. Arrived 3 hours early and they welcomed us with open arms. The rooms were clean,well equipped,and even put up with us being late for the best homemade breakfest served. Located in the central part of downtown they had private parking for all of our cars at no cost.
I would highly recommend this place to stay and will return. The age group of our party ranged from 13 - 78. They matched every age group with rooms and food served. The staff were very helpful and it shows that there is still places out there that knows how to treat people.
Great place,service,and prices.

Thanks again
The Allan, St.Pierre, Sudds, Thompson family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank blacktruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREAMER55, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property and your kind words. It was a pleasure to share your very special day and we hope that we made it memorable for you all.
We hope that you'll visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews