We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit...”
Review of Shipwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shipwright Inn
Ranked #3 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We picked the right place for us. Even before our visit, the owner was helpful in answering questions about the ferry. .While we were there, we were helped with restaurant suggestions. The entire staff could not have been more friendly and fun to talk with. Our room was perfect, wonderful bedroom with tub in the room...odd, but it was a special aerating tub. Lovely! Pleasant sitting area and a little kitchenette too! Everything one would need and more! Even a doublesided fireplace between sitting area and bedroom.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auvoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipwrightPEI, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks a lot for staying with us and giving us a great review. We are so delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to our place, WE look forward to welcoming you back!

Happy New Year!

Tri Nguyen
Shipwright Inn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

Friendly owner and staff, the most wonderful breakfasts and a building full of historical character. A nice added touch are the delicious cakes or treats left out in the dining room in the evening. Loved it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipwrightPEI, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thanks a lot, Rob, for your stay with us, and for your great review of our services. We are so delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to our place. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Have a nice day!

Tri Nguyen
Shipwright Inn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

My partner and I booked the Crow’s Nest for our first night on the Island. We were overtired, and terribly jet lagged. We were welcomed into The Shipwright Inn and treated so kindly. We appreciated that the owner was polite and friendly, along with the other staff. We were shown to our beautiful room and pretty much fell into bed. We were able to come and go as we pleased, and then in the morning were treated to a delicious breakfast. The room was very clean, the dining room very elegant and again, the service was amazing. We’re looking at making it an annual treat for the start of our visit back home to the Island, and highly recommend The Shipwright Inn to anyone wishing to visit the Island.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Islandrose177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipwrightPEI, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thanks a lot for your stay with us, and for your great review of our services. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your visit to our place. We look forward to welcoming you back regularly!

Have a nice day!

Tri Nguyen
Shipwright Inn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

This Inn is close to all the must-see spots in Charlottetown. The multi-course breakfast made you feel like you were dining in an upscale restaurant. We stayed in the Chart Room and the decor was perfect for their nautical theme. We enjoyed looking at the maps on the wall as well as the toiletries of that era. Service was perfect as well. I will definitely stay here again the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LWL092014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipwrightPEI, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thanks a lot for your stay with us, and for your great review of our services. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your visit to our place. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Have a nice day!

Tri Nguyen
Shipwright Inn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

The picture in website doesnt do justice of the old house that is 152 years old. It is a charming home that own by a very humble and friendly host. The room we are in, cosy and quiet even it is located above/ next to the main road. As the weather in Charlottetown getting too wet, windy and cold, this home where we seek our "solace".... We love to sit at the hall, reading and exploring the antiques. And we saw a rainbow flag, all are welcome here. It is a home for all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ant7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipwrightPEI, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thanks a lot for your stay with us, and for your review of our inn. We are happy that you both have enjoyed your visit to our place. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Have a nice day!

Tri Nguyen
Shipwright Inn Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
777 reviews
0.4 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 24 in Charlottetown
367 reviews
0.8 km away
Sydney Boutique Inn & Suites
Sydney Boutique Inn & Suites
#11 of 24 in Charlottetown
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 24 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.6 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
674 reviews
0.2 km away
Colonial Charm Inn
Colonial Charm Inn
#2 of 43 in Charlottetown
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright Inn

Address: 51 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: $129 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shipwright Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award-Winning 5 Star B&B, centrally located in Olde Charlottetown, has been rated as the "Best B&B on Prince Edward Island" and one of the "Top Ten B&B's" in Canada by Frommer's Travel Guides and is now ranked as the top 5-star accommodation in Prince Edward Island by TravelMyth. The Inn, which was built in 1865 has unique period antiques and artwork which have been collected for your enjoyment. We offer warm, Island hospitality, attentive service and believe in pampering all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Shipwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing